“You are all Champions,” Akpabio tells Super Eagles Captain

Sharon EboesomiFebruary 14, 20243 min

Akpabio said the Super Eagles made the country proud by reaching the competition final and urged all Nigerians to give the team the support and appreciation they deserve.

You are all Champions, Akpabio tells Super Eagles Captain

The Senate President, Godswill Akpabio has encouraged the Super Eagles to remain optimistic despite their inability to clinch the African Nations Cup in Cote d’Ivoire, reassuring them that they were all winners for taking home the silver medal.

Senator Akpabio gave the charge when he along with other Senators received the captain of the team, William Troost-Ekong in his office in Abuja on February 14.

In a statement by Akpabio’s Special Assistant on Media/Communication, Anietie Ekong, he said the Super Eagles had done the nation proud by getting to the final of the competition and urged all Nigerians to accord the team the support and commendation that they deserve.

READ ALSO: AFCON: NASS principal officers, committee members to watch Super Eagles in Cote d’Ivoire

According to Senator Akpabio, “I see you all as Champions. You may not have won the ultimate prize but you made our country proud through your performance. Nigerians were very united in their support for you.

“You only lost the trophy but not the hearts of Nigerians. I want to challenge you and the rest of the team to work harder so that the next time you come here you will not only present me with the team’s jersey but also the trophy,” he said.

In response, Troost-Ekong, the captain of the Super Eagles, stated that he would not have missed the opportunity to thank the Senate President for his support of the team. He recalled Senator Akpabio’s trip to Cote d’Ivoire to be able to provide support for the team.

“We thank you for your support and regret not winning the AFCON title. We promise to work harder to surpass our achievements by winning the gold medal in the next competition,” Ekong assured.

Senators present at the reception included the Deputy Senate President, Barau Jibrin (APC, Kano North), Senate Leader, Opeyemi Bamidele (APC, Ekiti Central), Asuquo Ekpenyong (APC, Cross River South), Adeola Olamilekan (APC, Ogun West), William Eteng (APC, Cross River Central), Abdulaziz Yar’Adua (APC, Katsina Central), Onyekachi Nwebonyi (APC, Ebonyi North), Tokunbo Abiru (APC, Lagos East) amongst others.

Sharon Eboesomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - contents@orderpaper.ng - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy