SHOCKER: Only 3 of 10 Principal Officers secured seats in 10th Senate

OrderPaper Nigeria profiles Presiding and Principal Officers in the Senate who will not be returning to the National Assembly in June 2023
adminMarch 1, 20235 min

The tsunami recently witnessed in the 2023 National Assembly polls held across the country has left people shocked. In this piece, OrderPaper Nigeria brings to the fore; winners and losers from Saturday’s epic battle between the Presiding and Principal Officers in the Senate




Phillip Aduda, Senate Minority Leader

In the buildup to the 2023 National Assembly Elections, it was clear that a good number of the Presiding and Principal Officers in the outgoing Senate will not make it to the 10th Senate.

This was due to the fact that about sixty per cent of the lawmakers (60%) had either failed to secure a return ticket from their parties or lost out in their bid to run for executive offices.Some ran for governorship in their state, while two of the lawmakers ran for the Presidency. The Deputy President of the Senate is, however, the only lawmaker in this category who is not returning to the Red Chamber but holds a bright prospect in his quest to lead his State Executive Council.

The February 25 National Assembly Elections further introduced a shocker as two other Principal Officers lost the general elections.



1. Ahmad Lawan (APC, Yobe North)RETURNING
The President of the outgoing Ninth Senate scaled all hurdles to secure a return ticket to the National Assembly in June. Having been declared by the Supreme Court as the authentic candidate of his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC), days before the election, he triumphed again at the general election with a landslide.

2. Ovie Omo-Agege (APC, Delta Central) – OUTGOING
Deputy President of the Senate,  Omo-Agege, was first elected into the Senate in 2015 and is serving out his second term.

He, however, did not run in the February 25 National Assembly Elections following his quest to occupy the Delta State Government House in May 2023.

Regarded as a vocal and fearless representative who has been immersed in some controversies, he will be contesting the March 11 Governorship Elections in his home state on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).


READ ALSO: Parliament Special: How justified is severance package for lawmakers?





  1. Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir (APC, Sokoto East) – OUTGOING
    The Senate Majority Leader will not be returning to the Senate, having contested the May 2022 Governorship Primaries of his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC) and lost.
  2. Robert Ajayi Borrofice (APC, Ondo North) – OUTGOING
    The Deputy Majority Leader also joins the long list of Senators who will not be a part of the 10th Senate.In June 2022, he ran in the Presidential primaries of his party where he withdrew at the last minute for the eventual winner and current President-Elect, Bola Tinubu. 
  3. Orji Uzor Kalu (APC, Abia North) – RETURNING
    Senator Kalu, who doubles as Chief Whip of the Senate, is a two-time governor of Abia State and 2007 Presidential Candidate of the Progressive People’s Alliance (PPA).He became a Senator in 2019 and is won his re-election bid to the National Assembly.
  4. Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (APC, Niger North) – OUTGOING
    Senator Sabi Abdullahi is the Deputy Majority Whip representing Niger North Senatorial District. First elected into the Senate in 2015, he went on to win the 2019 election for his district but failed to secure the ticket of his party in the May 2022 primaries. He lost the ticket to his state governor,  who emerged victorious in the Senatorial Elections on February 25.

READ ALSO: Principal Officers sponsored 10% of total Senate Bills | National Assembly Scorecard





  1. Phillip Aduda (PDP, FCT) – OUTGOING
    Third-term lawmaker and Minority Leader of the Senate, Phillip Aduda, suffered defeat at the just concluded polls in the hands of the Labour Party (LP) Candidate, Ireti Kingibe.

    Following the resignation of Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe from the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Aduda was announced as the Senate Minority Leader in June 2022.
  2. Shauibu Isa Lau (PDP, Taraba North) – RETURNING
    Deputy Senate Minority Leader, Shu’aibu Isa Lau is the only principal officer from the Minority Caucus who will be returning to the National Assembly.The second-term lawmaker defeated his closest opponent and former acting governor of the state, Sani Abubakar Danladi, to secure his seat in the 10th Senate.
  3. Chukwuka Godfrey Utazi (PDP, Enugu North) – OUTGOING
    Senator Utazi is the Minority Whip of the Senate. He voluntarily did not seek re-election in the February 25 election.A second-term lawmaker, there are speculations that he declined participation in the primaries to pave the way for his state governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, who sought a seat in the 10th Senate but lost.
  4. Danjuma La’ah (PDP, Kaduna South) OUTGOING
    A second-term lawmaker, the Deputy Senate Minority Whip contested the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Senatorial primaries for his district in May 2022 but was defeated by Sunday Katung.Katung has been declared winner of the Senatorial elections by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy