Soldier killing: Army declares eight persons wanted

Leah TwakiMarch 28, 20242 min

The Army has declared the eight individuals wanted for their alleged involvement in the tragic soldier killing incident in Delta state.

Eight declared wanted over Delta killings

The Defence Headquarters (DHQ) has declared eight individuals wanted for their alleged involvement in the tragic killing of 17 military personnel on March 14 in Okuama Community, Delta State.

In a press briefing in Abuja, the Director of Defence Media Operations, Maj.-Gen. Edward Buba, disclosed the names of the suspects as: Prof. Ekpekpo Arthur, Andaowei Dennis Bakriri, Akevwru Daniel Omotegbo (a.k.a Amagben), Akata Malawa David, Sinclear Oliki, Clement Ikolo Ogenerukeywe, Reuben Baru, and Igoli Ebi.

“We are determined to prevent a recurrence of the incident that resulted in the deaths of 17 soldiers,” Maj.-Gen. Buba stated, urging the public to cooperate with the military and provide any valuable information to aid in apprehending the suspects.

Highlighting the military’s previous efforts in Delta State, Maj.-Gen. Buba mentioned various goodwill projects, including the construction of a Multipurpose Hall and Borehole Projects in the Patani Local Government Area, and Medical Outreach at Aladja Community in Udu Local Government Area.

“Nevertheless, troops would continue with their efforts until the culprits are found, arrested, tried, and brought to justice by Nigerian law.

“Citizens are our first line of intelligence and must rise to the occasion,” Buba noted.

OrderPaper recalls that the Senate, earlier through its Committee on Media and Publicity, endorsed President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s directive to uncover the perpetrators of the brutal killings. 

Meanwhile, Rep. Rodney Ebikebina (PDP, Bayelsa) decried the military invasion of the Igbomotoru community in Bayelsa state, following the incident in Okuama, describing it as unfortunate and saddening as it led to the destruction and killing of some innocent and peace-loving citizens of the Igbomotoru.

The 17 slain soldiers, including a Lieutenant Colonel, two Majors, one Captain, and 13 soldiers, were laid to rest at the National Cemetery Abuja amidst tears and agony.

Leah Twaki

A Chemistry graduate, excels as a social media manager, digital journalist, and content creator with an interdisciplinary skills blend of science and communication.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy