NEDC: Senate confirms Hon. Sam Onuigbo, Others as Board Members

Sharon EboesomiJuly 26, 20234 min

Hon. Onuigbo, one of the five inductees into Nigeria’s first-ever Most Valuable Parliamentarian (MVP) Hall of Fame, expressed his desire to use the position to drive the mainstreaming of climate action into the development plans for the North East in order to engender sustainable development within the region.




The Senate has screened and confirmed the appointment of Honourable Samuel Onuigbo, alongside six others as members of the Governing Board for the North East Development Commission (NEDC).

The confirmation follows the consideration of a request from President Bola Ahmed Tinubu in accordance with the provisions of Section 5(b) of the North East Development Commission Establishment Act 2017.

Following the presentation of the request by the Senate Leader, Michael Opeyemi Bamidele (APC, Ekiti Central) on the floor of the Red Chamber, the Senate according to Order 12, resolved to suspend their rule to allow visitors into the plenary and commence screening.


READ ALSO: Boundary Dispute: Reps seek swift action to prevent Nigeria from losing territory


Not long after, the Senate dissolved into a Committee of the Whole, where Senator Solomon Olamilekan Adeola suggested that the nominees give a summary or highlight of their achievements so far, following which some of the nominees introduced themselves.

Consequently, they were advised to engage more with stakeholders and the state governments to avoid duplication of projects.

The confirmed nominees are:

Nominee State  Geo-political zone Position
General Paul Tarfa (Rtd)
– Reappointment
Adamawa North East Chairman
Hon Gambo Maikomo  Taraba Member
Abdullahi Abbas Kano North West
Tsav Stephen Aondoana  Benue North Central
Chief Mutiu Lawal-Are  Lagos South West
Hon. Samuel Ifeanyi Onuigbo Abia South East
Frank Achinike Owhor Rivers South South

READ ALSO: Parliament Spotlight: Presiding Officers of Nigeria’s State Assemblies (North East)

Nominee State  Geo-political zone Position
Mohammed Goni Alkali


Borno North East Managing Director
Musa Yashi 


Bauchi Executive Director, Humanitarian Affairs
Ahmed Abdulsalam Yahaya Gombe Executive Director, (OPS)
Dr. Abubakar Garba lliya Yobe Executive Director, Admin and Finance


Sharon Eboesomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes