Speaker Abbas announces 134 Committees to enable Reps oversight function

Elizabeth AtimeJuly 28, 20234 min

Surprise as Kano Reps chair Appropriation, Petroleum Resources Committees; Ekiti lawmaker, Rep. Akin Rotimi Jr. is to chair the House Media and Public Affairs Committee and will major as Spokesperson of the Green Chamber.


READ ALSO: Parliament Meme: House of Representatives’ Committee on Selection




Following weeks of speculation, the House of Representatives has announced the composition of its one hundred and thirty-four (134) Standing Committees.

The announcement of Chairpersons and Deputies of the House Standing Committees was made during Thursday’s plenary by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rep. Tajudeen Abbas, shortly before the lawmakers proceeded on their annual recess.

Notable among the Committee Chairmen are former Speakership Aspirants; immediate past Deputy Speaker, Rep. Ahmed Idris Wase and Rep. Aminu Sani Jaji who are to chair the Committee on Federal Character Commission (FCC) and Committee on Ecological Fund, respectively. Other former speakership contestants announced as Chairmen of Standing Committees include Rep. Aliyu Muktar Betara, named as Chairman of the Committee on Federal Capital Territory (FCT), and Rep. Yusuf Gagdi who retained his chairmanship of the Committee on Navy.


READ ALSO: Reps constitute seven Special Committees, adjourns to July


For some female representatives; the wife of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Rep. Regina Akume, was announced as Chairperson of the Committee on NAFDAC, while Rep. Boma Goodhead – Local Content, Rep. Erhiatake Ibori-Isuene  – NDDC and Rep. Blessing Onuh – Land Transport.

A couple of lawmakers who also retained their leadership of Committees they chaired in the Ninth House of Representatives include h; Rep. Babajimi Benson – Defence; Rep. James Faleke – Finance, Rep. Leke Abejide – Customs and Excise; and Rep. Sada Soli – Water Resources.

For Kano lawmakers; Abdullahi Bichi and Abdulmumin Jibrin were appointed Chairmen of the Appropriation and Foreign Affairs Committees respectively. On the other hand, Leader of the Ninth House Ado Doguwa was appointed Chairman of the Committee on Petroleum Resources (Upstream).


READ ALSO: Drama at Reps Hearing as FCC Commissioners accuse Chairman of lying


The Speaker also announced Rep Bamidele Salam as Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), while his predecessor, Rep. Oluwole Oke chairs the Committee on Judiciary. Rep. Bello El-Rufai was named Chairman of the Committee on Banking Regulations;  Rep. Dachung Musa Bagos – Science and Technology; and Rep. Mike Etaba (APC, Cross River) is in charge of Public Petitions.

Additionally, Rep. Adamu Tanko landed the Committee on Diaspora; Rep. Okonta Chris – Climate Change; Rep. Afam Ogene (LP) – Renewable Energy, Rep. Ibrahim Bukar-Ibrahim – Rural Electrification and Rep. Akın Alabi chairs the Committee on Works.

Ekiti lawmaker, Rep. Akin Rotimi Jr. is to chair the House and Media and Publicity Committee and will major as Spokesperson of the Green Chamber.

See full list of the Committees below:









Elizabeth Atime

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - contents@orderpaper.ng - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy