10TH NASS: Composition of the Nigerian House of Representatives | Age, Gender

Olamilekan Quadri AlimiJune 21, 20233 min

In this second part of our series on the composition of both chambers of the Tenth National Assembly, we examine the composition of the House of Representatives. featuring distribution of members along parties, gender, youth, and PWDs



READ ALSO: 10TH NASS: Composition of the Nigerian Senate | Parties, Ex-Governors and Deputies



On Tuesday, 13th June 2023, the long-awaited inauguration of the Tenth National Assembly took place with Honourable Tajudeen Abbas (APC, Zaria Federal Constituency) and Honourable Benjamin Okezie Kalu (APC, Bende Federal Constituency) emerging as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House respectively.

While the recently-inaugurated parliament has also been described as the most politically diverse in Nigeria’s parliamentary history, not many know what the distribution of representatives in the Green Chamber according to parties, age, gender and other considerations is like.

This latter subject is thus our focus in this short piece.


(i) Number of Seats – 360
(ii) Number of Political Parties – 8



Majority Caucus:
(i) All Progressives Congress (APC) –178 seats

Minority Caucus:
(i) Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) – 115 seats
(ii) Labour Party (LP) – 35 seats
(iii) New Nigeria Peoples’ Party (NNPP) – 19 seats
(iv) All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) – 5 seats
(v) Social Democratic Party (SDP) – 2 seats
(vi) Young Progressives Party (YPP) – 2 seats
(vii) African Democratic Congress (ADC) – 2 seats

READ ALSO: OrderPaper congratulates NASS Presiding Officers, tasks Members on accountable service delivery 




(i) Male Members – 343 members
(ii) Female Members – 15 members


(i) Youngest Member – 27 years
(ii) Oldest Member – 67 years
(iii) Youth (Under 35) – 12

(i) Persons With Disabilities (PWDs) – 0
(ii) Vacant – 2 seats


NOTE: 2 Seats are currently vacant due to death and resignation of the occupants.

🟧 PDP –  Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency, Taraba State (Deceased)

🟨 APC – Surulere 1 Federal Constituency (Resigned)




READ ALSO: At first plenary, Speaker Abbas declares lawmaker’s seat vacant

Olamilekan Quadri Alimi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *