Fact File: Performance Scorecards of Ex-Governors at the 9th Assembly

admin9 months ago6 min

On this episode of our Fact File, we commence a series on the Performance Scorecards of the Ninth National Assembly recently released by OrderPaper Nigeria as a Third-Year Appraisal of the lawmakers across various categories.

In this part, the focus is on Ex-Governors at the Senate and how well they’ve performed in terms of Bills Sponsorship in the last three years.





  • A total of 16 ex-governors were elected to the 9th Assembly as Senators in 2019, constituting 17.44% of the total number of lawmakers in the chamber.
  • Seven were governors elected as Senators for the first time, while ten had previously been in the Red Chamber.Governors elected to the Senate [Pre-2019]
  • Theodore Orji (Abia Central) PDP
  • Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia North) APC
  • Chimaroke Nnamani (Enugu East) PDP
  • Danjuma Goje (Gombe Central) APC
  • Sam Egwu (Ebonyi North) PDP 
  • Kabiru Gaya (Kano South) APC
  • Adamu Aliero (Kebbi Central) PDP 
  • Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa West) APC
  • Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto North) APC

    READ ALSO: 2023: OrderPaper unveils signature, National Assembly Performance Scorecards


    Governors elected to the Senate in 2019

  • Gabriel Suswam (Benue North East) PDP
  • Kashim Shettima (Borno Central) PDP
  • Ibrahim Geidam (Yobe South) APC
  • Rochas Okorocha (Imo West) APC
  • Ibrahim Shekarau (Kano Central) APC
  • Tanko Al-Makura (Nasarawa North) APC
  • Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun Central) APC 





Theodore Orji
(Abia Central) APC                                                         
7 10
Orji Uzor Kalu
(Abia North) PDP
4 25
Gabriel Suswam
(Benue North East)  PDP
7 7
Kashim Shettima
(Borno Central)  APC                                                                                           
7 10
Sam Egwu
(Ebonyi North) PDP                                                                                                                     
6 7
Chimaroke Nnamani
(Enugu East) PDP 
1 1
Danjuma Goje
(Gombe Central) APC                                                                                               
2 4
Rochas Okorocha
(Imo West) APC            
7 15
Ibrahim Shekarau
(Kano Central) PDP                                                                                                                                                  
0 0
Kabiru Gaya
(Kano South) APC                                 
3 3
Adamu Aliero
(Kebbi Central) PDP
2 3
Tanko Al-Makura
(Nasarawa North) APC
6 6
Abdullahi Adamu
(Nasarawa West) APC
7 Resigned
[12th April 2022]
Ibikunle Amosun
(Ogun Central) APC     
15 24
Aliyu Wamakko
(Sokoto North) APC                                         
6 6
Ibrahim Geidam
(Yobe South) APC                                                                                                      
2 2




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *