OrderPaperToday – Some five months into the 8th assembly, the House of Representatives has finally constituted its standing committees amidst a sense of unease among members especially of the ruling All Progressives congress (APC).

Speaker of the House, Mr. Yakubu Dogara at Thursday’s plenary named members to chair the various committees of the House. He also announced deputy chair persons of the committees.

Of the 96 standing committees, 49 chairmanship slots were allocated to the APC; 45 to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); and one apiece to the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) respectively.

--Sponsored Content --

The distribution of the committee leadership showed that Speaker Dogara rewarded his loyalists with ‘Grade A’ committees leaving some influential members of the House dissatisfied and grumbling. For instance, Messrs Jibrin Abdulmumuni and Adams Jagaba are named chairmen of Appropriations and Interior committees respectively. Both men are core Dogara loyalists.

The distribution also showed that some members in the preceding 7th assembly retained their portfolios. These include Mohammad Monguno, Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, Chukwudi Jones, Nnenna Ukeji, Nicholas Mutu and Aminu Shagari who got committee chairmanship of Agricultural Production and Services, Aviation, Banking and Currency, Foreign Affairs, Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) and Federal Judiciary respectively.

New committees were also created as indicated in the list. These include: Agricultural Colleges and Institutions, Basic Education and Services, Delegated Legislation, FCT Judiciary, Health Institutions, IDPs Refugees and Initiatives on North East, Insurance and Actuarial Matters, and Tertiary Education and Services.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here