OrderPaperToday – The Senate on Tuesday commenced consideration for screening, nominees of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) in the Central Bank of Nigeria.

This development follows communication from President Muhammadu Buhari on the subject to the Red Chamber.

As contained in a letter read during plenary by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, the nominees include Professor Mohammed Adaya Salisu and Dr. Mo’ Omamegbe as new appointees to the Monetary Policy Committee.

READ ALSO: POS: Introduce stringent regulations for business operation in Nigeria, Reps charge CBN

--Sponsored Content --

Others up for renewal are Prof. Michael Obadan, Prof. Festus Adeola Adenikinju, Prof. Aliyu Sanusi Rafindadi, Dr. Robert Asogwa and Alhaji Aliyu Ahmed. 

According to the letter, Buhari’s request was pursuant to section 5(4) of the Central Bank of Nigeria Act, 2007.

The Senate thereafter referred the request to confirm the appointment of the new nominees and renewal of members of the Committee on Banking, Insurance, and Other Financial Institutions for screening.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here