OrderPaperNigeria- The Senate on Tuesday gave its nod to the establishment of six additional Nigerian Law Schools across the country.

This followed its consideration and adoption recommendations by the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, headed by Senator Bamidele Opeyemi (APC, Ekiti Central).

The Bill, titled “A Bill for an Act to amend the Legal Education (Consolidation, etc) Act by establishing the campuses for the Nigerian Law School, and for other related matters” was sponsored by Senator Smart Adeyemi (APC, Kogi West).

--Sponsored Content --

According to the Bill, “There shall be established a minimum of two campuses in each of the six geopolitical zones, as specified in the schedule to the Bill.

Subject to the provision of subsection 3, of this section, creation of additional campuses of the Nigerian Law School shall be approved by the National Assembly through legislation whenever the need arises.”

Lead debater on the bill, Senator Adeyemi said the creation of the six new campuses is a legislative intervention to address the exponential increase in the number of law graduates from the Nigerian universities and foreign ones.

The six additional campuses being proposed includes Kabba Law School Campus (Kogi, North Central); Maiduguri Law School Campus (Borno, North East); Argungu Law School Campus (Kebbi, North West); Okija Law School Campus (Anambra, South East); Orogun Law School Campus (Delta, South South) and Ilawe Law School Campus (Ekiti, South West).

As contained in its observation and findings, Senator Bamidele’s committee noted that the existing campuses are overstretched and the infrastructures are not enough to accommodate thousands of law students graduating from the universities.

It stated that the provision for additional campuses in the six geopolitical zones of the federation was appropriate as it does not tamper with the seven existing campuses established by administrative responsibilities of the Council of Legal Education.

The Senate, therefore, resolved that the current Law School at Bwari should be for the Federal Capital City, while the proposed campuses in Kabba, Kogi and Jos, Plateau; would take care of the North-Central zone.

The Upper Chamber also resolved to advise the federal government to, as a matter of priority, provide adequate resources for the funding of the Infrastructural needs of the law campuses across the country.


The existing law school campuses are located in Lagos (South West), Abuja (North Central), Yola – Adamawa (North East), Kano (North West), Enugu (South East) and Yenegoa – Bayelsa (South South).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here