20.9 C
Monday, August 15, 2022

...bridging the gap between people and parliament

Senate approves 2 new Federal Universities for FCT and Rivers

Senate approves 2 new Federal Universities for FCT and Rivers

OrderPaperToday – The Senate on Wednesday, approved two bills to establish two new Federal Universities in Rivers State and the Federal Capital Territory. 

They are the FCT University of Science and Technology Abaji (Establishment) Bill, 2022; and Federal University of Environmental Technology, Koroma/Saakperwa Tai Ogoni, Rivers State (Establishment) Bill, 2022.

After sufficient consideration of two separate reports presented by the Committee on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND, the bills scaled third reading.

READ ALSO: TETFund Opposes Inclusion of Agriculture Colleges as Beneficiaries

Vice-Chairman of the Committee, Senator Sandy Onor, in a presentation on behalf of the Chairman, Ahmad Babba Kaita, said the bill to establish the Federal Capital Territory University of Science and Technology, Abaji, would provide the legal framework needed by the institution to close the knowledge gap in science and technology.

According to the lawmaker, the bill to establish the Federal University of Environmental Technology would allow for academic and professional programmes leading to the award of first degrees, post-graduate degrees, and diplomas with special emphasis on environmental technology and research. 

Both bills to establish the two federal universities were thereby passed by the chamber after consideration.

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

- Advertisement -spot_img