20.9 C
Monday, August 15, 2022

...bridging the gap between people and parliament

Assembly Updates#FactFile: On resignation and impeachment of Deputy Governors in Nigeria

#FactFile: On resignation and impeachment of Deputy Governors in Nigeria

This episode of #FridayFactFile is a historical timeline on various resignations and impeachment of Deputy Governors since the dawn of Nigeria’s fourth republic

The recent impeachment of Oyo State Deputy Governor, Rauf Olaniyan reminds us of the historical feuds between Nigerian State Governors and their Deputies.

In many instances, these feuds are occasioned by a perceived governorship ambition of the deputy governors while on some occasions, they are caught in the web of power play between gladiators in their states; leading them to become casualties.

Some political observers note that not many governorship candidates have detailed knowledge of the character of their running mates, as the decision of who serves as the number two citizen is often a party affair and is carried out as a ‘balancing act.

It is difficult to tell most times when things begin to turn sour between these governors and their deputies, but one constant is the fact that impeachment becomes near-inevitable as soon as the relationship between them becomes frosty.

While the State Houses of Assembly (still seen as apron strings of the executive at the state level) have become ready tools in the hands of the governors in carrying out their bidding, the trend continues to pose a sign of worry as to when the anomaly will finally end.

We made research on the many cases of impeachment and also found out that where resignations exist, they are largely face-saving efforts on the part of the deputy governors to prevent an impending impeachment.

Here’s our historical timeline on the subject:


Iyiola Omisore (Osun State) – Deputy Governor to Bisi Akande
Impeached: December 13, 2002

Abdullahi Abubakar Barde
(Kebbi State) – Deputy Governor to Adamu Aliero
Impeached: 2002

Chris Ekpenyong (Akwa Ibom State) – Deputy Governor to Victor Attah
Impeached: June 23, 2005

Abiodun Aluko (Ekiti State) – Deputy Governor to Peter Ayodele Fayose
Impeached: September 2005

Biodun Olujimi (Ekiti State) – Deputy Governor to Peter Ayodele Fayose
Impeached: October 16, 2006  Impeachment Nullified:  April 14, 2015

Femi Pedro (Lagos State, Deputy Governor to Bola Ahmed Tinubu
Impeached: May 10, 2007  Impeachment Nullified: December 31 2015 by the Lagos State House of Assembly (LAHA).

Garba Gadi (Bauchi State) – Deputy Governor to Isa Yuguda
Impeached: August 13, 2009   Impeachment Nullified: June 25, 2010

Perembowei Ebebi (Bayelsa State) Deputy Governor to Timipre Sylva
Impeached: June 24, 2010.         Impeachment Nullified: Feb 16, 2011

Sani Abubakar Danladi (Taraba State) –  Deputy Governor to Danbaba Suntai
Impeached: October 4, 2012  Impeachment Nullified: Nov 21, 2014

Jude Agbaso (Imo State)  – Deputy Governor to Rochas Anayo Okorocha
Impeached: March 28, 2013    Impeachment Nullified:  Feb 15, 2021

Sunday Onyebuchi (Enugu State) – Deputy Governor to Sullivan Ihenacho Chime
Impeached: August 26, 2014    Impeachment Nullified: Dec 18, 2015

Ali Olanusi  (Ondo State) – Deputy Governor to Olusegun Rahman Mimiko
Impeached: April 27, 2015          Impeachment Nullified:  March 24, 2017

Eze Madumere (Imo State)  – Deputy Governor to Rochas Anayo Okorocha
Impeached: July 30, 2018 Impeachment Nullified:  October 2, 2018

Simon Achuba (Kogi State) – Deputy Governor to Yahaya Adoza Bello
Impeached: Oct 18, 2019    Impeachment Nullified: Feb 27, 2020

Mahdi Aliyu Gusau (Zamfara State) – Deputy Governor to Bello Mattawale
Impeached: Feb 23, 2022

Rauf Olaniyan (Oyo State) – Deputy Governor to Seyi Makinde
Impeached: July 18, 2022


Agboola Ajayi (Ondo State) – Deputy Governor to Rotimi Akeredolu
Served Impeachment Notice: July 8, 2020     Tenure Expired: Feb 24, 2021


Kofoworola Bucknor-Akerele (Lagos) – Deputy Governor to Bola Ahmed Tinubu
Resigned: 16 December 2002

Ibrahim Kwatolo (Jigawa)
Resigned: 2002

John Oyom Okpa (Cross River) – Deputy Governor to Donald Duke
Resigned: 30 January 2003

Enyinnaya Abaribe (Abia) – Deputy Governor to Orji Uzor Kalu
Resigned: 7 March 2003 (after 3 impeachment attempts)

Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto) – Deputy Governor to Attahiru Bafarawa
Resigned: 15 March 2006

Suleiman Argungu (Kebbi) – Deputy Governor to Usman Dakingari
Resigned: 10 February 2007

Chris Akomas (Abia State) – Deputy Governor to Theodore Orji
Purportedly Resigned: July 27, 2010                          Impeached: August 2, 2010

Bala James Ngilari
 (Adamawa) – Deputy Governor to Murtala Nyako
Resigned: 15 July 2014

Nuhu Gidado (Bauchi)
Resigned: 16 May 2018

Hafiz Abubakar (Kano State) – Deputy Governor to Abdullahi Ganduje
Resigned: 5 August 2018

Temidayo Taiwo-Sidiq
Temidayo Taiwo-Sidiq
Temidayo Taiwo-Sidiq is an ace political analyst and content editor with major interest in Nigerian Politics and Governance
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

- Advertisement -spot_img