OrderPaperToday – Nigerians have been venting on the decision of members of the National Assembly to reject the proposed electronic transmission of election results in the electoral act bill with many calling for sanctions on those who voted on the rejection.

Deliberations and voting on the electoral bill came with a lot of legislative politics focusing mainly on clause 52(2) on electronic transmission of election results by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

A majority of senators voted against the clause while the House of Representatives adopted an amended version.

In a public opinion poll organized by OrderPaper Nigeria that sampled the opinion of citizens regarding how senators voted, it was seen that majority of the citizenry are willing to take electoral action against lawmakers for not pushing through Clause 52(2) of the electoral bill.

An analysis of the results of the online poll revealed that an overwhelming 50% wanted to ensure that lawmakers that voted NO against electronic transmission of election results were voted out in the next elections; 41% voted to initiate recall process for these lawmakers; while 8.1% would rather send them texts and emails using online platforms like NGvoices.

Recall that in the House of Representatives, clause 52(2) caused a prolonged row when Deputy Speaker Idris Wase ruled against electronic transmission of results even in the face of overwhelming “Ayes” in favour of the clause.

The commotion continued the following day on 16th July when members of the opposition led by Minority leader Ndudi Elumelu (PDP Delta) staged a walk out over the refusal of the presiding officer Idris Wase to divide the House for counting of the votes.

Some members of the opposition, particularly of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), namely Linda Ikpazu (PDP, Anambra), Oluwole Oke (PDP, Osun), Nkem Abonta (PDP, Abia) and others stayed behind.

Sen. Sabi Abdullahi’s motion in the Senate which allows the Nigeria Communication Commission (NCC) to determine for INEC if electronic transmission of election results is possible was put to a vote with many senators voting along Party lines. Members of the All Progressive Congress (APC) voted against the clause while senators on the platform of the People Democratic Party (PDP) voted in favour.

52 Senators (50 APC, 2 PDP) voted NO while 28 Senators (All PDP) voted YES in favour.

The two PDP Senators who voted against electronic transmission are Stephen Odey (PDP Cross River) and Shuaibu Isa Lau (PDP Taraba). A total of 28 Senators were Absent 10 were from the PDP while Senators from Ogun and Anambra were Absent.

Prominent Nigerians including the former Speaker of the House and Governor of Sokoto State, Aminu Tambuwal, has condemned the decision of the Senate.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here