OrderPaperToday – Incumbent Governor Seriake Dickson of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared winner of the governorship election of Bayelsa State.

Dickson scored 134998   to defeat his closest rival, Mr. Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who got 86852 votes.

The final result was announced by the Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Zana Akpagu in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa State capital, Sunday evening.

--Sponsored Content --

The total tally was arrived at following the total collation of votes garnered from the December 5, 2015 statewide election and the January 9, 2016 Supplementary exercise in Southern Ijaw local government area.

The Supplementary election was however characterized by widespread violence in some areas in Southern Ijaw where killings, ballot snatching, voters intimidation and gun battles were reported.

The total tally indicates that Dickson won seven local government areas as against one by Sylva.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here