OrderPaperToday – It appears to be dark days for the opposition Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) in the National Assembly as its Senate Deputy Minority Whip, Ibrahim Danbaba, decamps to the governing All Progressives Congress (APC). 

Danbaba, who represents Sokoto South Senatorial District in the Upper Chamber of the National Assembly, conveyed his decision to join the APC in a letter read at the start of Wednesday’s plenary by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan.

--Sponsored Content --

As adduced in the letter, Senator Danbaba hinged his decision to leave the PDP on what he described as a “lingering and multifaceted crisis at the zonal level.”

READ ALSO: #MidTermRankings: Wamakko, Danbaba scored zero in motions, petitions

“My decision is anchored on the continuing multifaceted crisis that have bedeviled the PDP, especially at the zonal level which has created not only credibility problems, but has undermined party discipline, cohesion and focus.

The situation at the state level has not helped matters either as depicted by lack of political sanity, focus and credible leadership. 

I have in APC, the political ideology in consonance with my personal political philosophy. This Ideology also seems the best suited to meet the expectations and aspirations of my constituents. 

While thanking you, Mr. President, please, accept the assurances of my highest consideration.”

READ ALSO: Defection: New Deputy Minority Leader emerges for PDP Senate Caucus

Following the letter, Senators Philip Aduda (PDP, FCT) and Uche Lilian Ekwunife (PDP, Anambra Central), attempted to rely on points of order to stop Danbaba’s defection.

Relying on the provisions of Section 68(g) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended), Senator Ekwunife requested that Danbaba’s seat be declared vacant.

She was, however, ruled out of order by the Senate President, who explained that the reasons advanced by Senator Danbaba were valid and excusable under the law. 

READ ALSO: 2023: PDP loses one Senate seat as Deputy Minority Leader defects

Danbaba was on July 15, 2021, nominated by the PDP for the position of Deputy Minority Whip, following the defection of the former Deputy Whip, Senator Sahabi Alhaji Ya’u, representing Zamfara North from the PDP to the APC. 

He had on 24th July 2018, together with 13 other Senators from All Progressives Congress (APC) previously decamped to the PDP in a gale of defection that swept through the National Assembly.

His defection brings to two, the number of principal officers from the opposition PDP to join the APC in three months after the earlier defection of Deputy Minority Leader, Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba South) in February 2022.

The development thus brings the composition of Senators in the 9th National Assembly to APC (71), PDP (37), and the Young Progressives Party (YPP) 1.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here