OrderPaperToday – Nasarawa is one of the few states with the smallest delegation at the National Assembly. Its location as a boundary state to Abuja gives adjourning areas a bustling hustle associated with the suburbs of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

But this has little to do with the performance of the 8-member delegation of the state at the National Assembly – 3 in the Senate and 5 in the House of Representatives, respectively. Between these 8 lawmakers – two of whom are former governors- stand a total of 24 bills sponsored in two years of the 9th assembly.

Remarkable among the bills is the National Agricultural Development Fund (EST, ETC) Bill 2019 (SB. 119) by Sen. Abdullahi Adamu. The former governor (1999 to 2007) now senator representing Nasarawa West has sponsored a total of 7 bills, all of which were presented to the senate between June 2019 to May 2020. He has the highest number from any Nasarawa legislator in the 9th Assembly.

--Sponsored Content --

Sen. Umaru Tanko Almakura representing Nasarawa South is the immediate past governor of the state; he follows his predecessor closely with 5 bills one of which is the Fire Arms Control Act (Repeal and Re-Enactment) Bill 2020 (SB. 402).

4 out of the 5 bills to Sen Almakura’s credit were sponsored between May 2020 to June 2021 while between May 2019 to June 2020, he had only 1 bill.

Sen. Godiya Akwashiki representing Nasarawa North has just a bill to his credit. His bill for the establishment of Federal College of Medical Sciences Nasarawa-Eggon. 2020 (SB. 518) has only passed first reading.

Given the messy scandal that greeted Akwashiki’s entrance into the Senate, involving nudes and alleged infidelity, one would have expected this former state assembly man to put up a notable legislative performance to erase the scars.

Nasarawa team
Senators from Nasarawa state bills’ scorecard

In the House of Representatives, Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi who recently defected from the¬† People’s Democratic Party (PDP) to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and represents Keffi/Karu/Kokona takes the lead with 5 bills. 4 of these came between 2019- 2020.

The newbies from Nasarawa: Abdulkarim Usman (Akwanga/Nassarawa Eggon/Wamba), Abubakar Hassan Nalaraba (Awe/Doma/Keana) and Abdulmumin Mohammed Ari (Nassarawa/Toto) have ensured that their midterm does not draw to a close without some activity. Nalaraba and Ari have 3 bills each two of which they both sponsored between June 2019 to May 2020.

Usman however has not sponsored a bill nor moved a motion in two years. So is returning legislator, Abubakar Sarki Dahiru (Lafia/Obi) who has neither bills nor motions in tow years of the 9th assembly.

Nasarawa Reps
How Teaam Nasarawa stands on bills

This newspaper begun the release of the National Assembly midterm reports with Plateau State featuring last week from the North-Central geopolitical zone.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here