OrderPaperToday- With three senators and eight House of Representative members, the Kebbi lawmakers at the 9th National Assembly have a combined total of 23 Bills.

Summarily, the lawmakers have had an overall poor run halfway into their tenures compared with counterparts from some other states.

The three Senators sponsored a total of 10 Bills; this represents 1.4% of the total senate bills at midterm.

Sen. Yahaya Abubakar Abdullahi (APC, Kebbi North) who is also the senate leader, leads with six Bills. He returns to the Senate for a second time. At the same time, three of his Bills have been passed by the Senate. Two have gotten to the Committee stage, and one has gone through 1st reading.

On the other hand is Sen. Mohammed Adamu Mainasara Aliero (APC, Kebbi) with two Bills. He is the ex-governor of Kebbi State (29 May 1999 – 29 May 2007). One of his Bills to establish a university in Birnin-Kebbi has been passed while his second Bill is awaiting second reading. He comes 12th on the ex-governors bills rankings, a 3-spot drop of his ranking last year.

Also sponsoring two Bills is another second time senator, Bala Ibn Na’allah (APC, Kebbi South). He is previously a member in the House of Reps from 2003 to 2011. Equally, just like their counterparts in the red chamber, most of these bills are on the creation of new agencies.

Kebbi senators
How Senators from Kebbi Fared at Midterm

On their part, Kebbi legislatures in the green chamber have sponsored a total of 13 Bills. Mr. Tukura Kabir Ibrahim (APC, Fakai/Sakaba/Wasagu Danko/Zuru) leads his fellow Kebbi rep members with five Bills. His Bills are on Constitution alteration and EFCC Act amendment, among others.

Yusuf Tanko Sununu (APC, Ngaski/Shanga/Yauri) and Jega Muhammad Umar (APC, Aleiro/Gwandu/Jega) both have four Bills each. These Bills are at different stages of either first reading or awaiting committee report.

The members who have no score on bills sponsorship are Umar Abdullahi Kamba (APC, Arewa/Dandi), Basher Isah (APC, Argungu/Augie), Bello A. Kaoje (APC, Bagudo/Suru), Muhammad Yakubu Bello (APC, Bunza/Birnin Kebbi/Kalgo), and Mohammed Shehu (APC, Koko Besse / Maiyama). These five members are yet to sponsor any Bill in two years.

It is worthy to note that most of these members are new to the House and as such their constituents would expect to have seen more bills productivity from them.

Kebbi Reps
How Kebbi Reps Fared at Midterm


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here