OrderPaperToday – A few beneficiaries of the o to ge political revolution which swept off the Saraki political dynasty in the 2019 general elections in Kwara State appear to be justifying their mettle in the federal legislature so far.

The three senators representing the state have sponsored a total of 27 Bills in two years of the 9th Senate. In comparison to the total of 12 Bills sponsored in the first legislative year, they have gone up by 15 Bills in the second year.

However, their lawmakers-counterparts in the House of Representatives have only 10 Bills at midterm. Meaning that no Kwara 9th assembly rep member appears on the top bills performance charts.

Breaking down the individual bills sponsorship tally, Sen. Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe (APC, Kwara Central) sponsored 14 Bills and appears on the top newbies bills chart. Interestingly, he is the senator who replaced the 8th assembly senate president, Bukola Saraki.

In his second year, Oloriegbe has sponsored six new bills  in addition to the eight he sponsored in his first year. Two of his Bills – the National Health Insurance Commission Bill and Mental Health and Substance Abuse Bill have been passed. Such bills speak largely of his medical background. Meanwhile, his other bills are at various stages of first reading or committee consideration.

Sen. Sadiq Suleiman Umar (APC, Kwara North) has 11 Bills to his name, split at first reading or committee stages. This is an impressive addition of eight to the three bills sponsored in the 1st year.

Lastly, Sen. Ashiru Oyelola Yisa (APC, Kwara South) has sponsored two bills. One is at the first reading stage, while the other at the Committee stage.

The total 27 senate bills from the three Kwara senators equals 3.8% of the total number of bills sponsored by the 9th Assembly senators in two years.

Bills tally of senators from Kwara state in the 9th Assembly
How Kwara Senators Stand at Midterm

In their second year in House, none of the members have sponsored a new bill. Ahmed Abubakar Ndakene (APC, Edu/Patigi/ Moro) remains at four bills, all of which he sponsored in the 1st legislative year. His Bills are all centred on the establishment of higher institutions of learning.

Following with two bills each are Mohammed Omar Bio (APC, Baruten/Kaiama), Olawuyi Abdulraheem Olatunji (APC, Ekiti/Isin/Irepodun/Oke-Ero) and Olododo Abdulganiyu Saka Cook (APC, Ilorin East/Ilorin South). Their Bills are also centred on the establishment of higher institutions of learning and medical centres.

Lastly, Tijani Kayode Ismai (APC, Ifelodun/Offa/Oyun), Alajagusi Abdulyekeen Sadiq (APC, Ilorin West/Asa) are without any bill in two years.

The Kwara rep members barely account for 0.7% of the total House of Representatives bills in two years.

Kwara Reps
How House Members from Kwara Stand at Midterm


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here