OrderPaperToday- So far, lawmakers from Kaduna State in the 9th National Assembly have a decent run compared to other states on the Bills chart. While the lawmakers in the Senate have a total of 36 bills, those in the House of Representatives have a total of 112 bills, making a combined run of 148 bills.

Taking a look at individual Bills, Sen. Uba Sani (APC, Kaduna Central) has sponsored a total of 21 Bills at midterm. He is a new senator who replaced the former senator and activist, Shehu Sani. While two of his Bills have been passed (one to establish a college of education and the other to repeal and enact the banks and other financial act), his others Bills either at first reading or committee stages.

Sen. Suleiman Abdu Kwari (APC, Kaduna North), on his part, has 14 Bills, and all have passed the first reading stage. However, Sen. Danjuma Tella La’ah (PDP, Kaduna South) has just one Bill to his name, which has also been passed. The 36 bills of the three senators make up 5% of total bills sponsored in the Senate in the first two years.

Kaduna NASS team
Kaduna Senators’ Bills Tally

Kaduna lawmakers in the House come in second with the highest number of Bills per state. Mr. Tajudeen Abbas (APC, Zaria) leads with 77 Bills sponsored. His Bills spread across youth development, constitution alteration, the establishment of educational institutes and medical centres, among others. The Minority Whip of the House, Gwani Gideon Lucas (PDP, Kaura) has sponsored 13 Bills. His Bills have either been read for the first time or are at the committee stage.

Mr. Mohammad Garba Datti (APC) (Sabon Gari) has nine Bills to his name. Also, Umar Barde Yakubu (PDP, Chikun/Kajuru) who is fifth term member (2003-till date), has four Bills. In the four Bills category, we also have Chawai Zakari Mukhtar (APC, Kauru).

Additionally, Shehu Balarabe (APC, Birnin Gwari/Giwa) and Magaji Amos Gwamna (PDP, Jaba/Zangon Kataf) both have sponsored two Bills each. Mr. Gabriel Saleh Zock (APC, Kachia/Kagarko), Hamza Ibrahim (APC, Soba), and Garba Shehu Nicholas (PDP, Jema’a/Sanga) all have one Bill each. The 112 bills of Kaduna Reps amount to 8.2% of the total number of bills sponsored in the House of Representatives in two years.

The members without any Bill in the period under review are: Ladan Mukhtar Shehu (APC, Makarfi/Kudan), Suleiman Aliyu Lere (APC, Lere), Ahmed Muktar (APC, Kaduna South), Suleiman Samaila (APC, Kaduna North), Hamisu Ibrahim (APC, Ikara/Kubau), and Zayyad Ibrahim (APC, Igabi).

Kaduna Reps
Kaduna Reps Bills Chart


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here