OrderPaperToday – Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege (APC, Delta Central) has sponsored the highest number of bills – 20 – constituting 83.33% of all the bills by senators from Delta state at midterm.

16 of these were sponsored in the first legislative year of the 9th Assembly and prominent among these are the Sexual Harassment Bill, 2019 which has been passed by the Senate.

Sen. James Manager (PDP, Delta South) and Sen. Peter Nwaoboshi (APC, Delta North) have sponsored 2 bills each, standing at 8.33%. James Manger sponsored 1 bill in each of the legislative years and Peter Nwaoboshi have his 2 bills sponsored in the second legislative year.

In all, the three senators from Delta State have contributed 3.2% of the total 747 bills sponsored at the Senate in two years.

Delta senators bills tally
How Senators from Delta stand on bills

Of the 92 bills sponsored by the House of Representatives members from Delta State, Hon. Ossai Nicholas Ossai (PDP, Ndokwa East/Ndokwa West/Ukwuani) has 44 bills to his credit constituting 47.83%. 30 0f the bills were sponsored in his first legislative year of the 9th Assembly.

Hon. Oberuakpefe Anthony Afe (PDP, Okpe/Sapele/Uvwie) and Hon. Ben Igbakpa (PDP, Ethiope East/Ethiope West) have 12 bills each to their credit, amounting to (13.04%) of the Delta total. Oberuakpefe Anthony Afe  sponsored 3 bills in his first year, ramping up the tally by the second legislative session.

Hon. Ndudi Elumelu (PDP, Aniocha North/Aniocha South), who is the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, has 9 bills (9.78%) to his credit, which were all sponsored in the first legislative year. Similarly, Hon. Waive Francis (APC, Ughelli North/Ughelli South/Udu) have 8 bills (8.7%), of which he sponsored 1 in his first year and Hon. Julius Pondi (PDP, Burutu) has a bill to his credit which was sponsored in his first year. Hon. Thomas Ereyitomi (PDP, Warri North/Warri South/Warri South), Hon.Victor Nwokolo (PDP, Ika North East/Ika South) have sponsored 3 bills each.

Two members, Nicholas Mutu and Leo Ogor, both ranking members of the House have not sponsored any bill in two years. Mutu has been in the House of since 1999 and Ogor served as Majority Leader in the 7th assembly.

However, Delta Rep members sponsored 6.7% of the 1365 bills introduced in the House as at midterm.

Delta reps
Delta Reps Bills Tally


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here