OrderPaperToday – The north-central geopolitical zone accounts for 146 out of the 716 bills sponsored in the first two years of the 9th senate.

This makes 20.4% of all senate bills and the second highest contribution from any zone in the period under review.

18 senators make up the contingent and with only one female senator- Sen. Nora Ladi Daduut (APC, Plateau South), who was elected in December 2020 to replace the late Sen. Ignatius Datong Longjan. She has so far not sponsored any bill.

Of the 18 senators, four are first timers; three are former governors- two from Nasarawa and one from Benue; and one principal officer of the senate from Niger.

The zone consists of six states – and Niger leads the chart with 46 bills, followed by Kwara with 27, Benue comes third with 26, next is Plateau with 21 while Nasarawa and Kogi tie with 13 bills.

Niger currently boasts of the highest performing senator going by bills sponsorship index. Although, a first-time senator, seems determined to make his mark. Sen. Mohammed Sani Musa (Niger East), has sponsored 26 bills and 10 have been read the first time. His bill to establish a Federal Orthopedic Hospital is the only passed bill so far, 9 others of his bills have been read the second time and have been sent to relevant committees.

Also from Niger is the Deputy Chief Whip of the Senate Sen. Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (Niger North). He has 7 out of the remaining 20 bills from Niger state.

Other newbies are Sen. Gyang Istifanus Dung (Plateau North), Sen. Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe (Kwara Central), and Sen. Emmanuel Yisa Orker-Jev (Benue North-West).

Two of the newbies, Senators Musa (Niger East) and Dung (Plateau North) make the top ten first-timers chart at second and fourth places respectively. On the chart for newbie senators, Oloriegbe is at sixth position with 15=4 bills and Yisa Orker-Jev places tenth with 11 bills.

The former governors from North-Central zone all have bills to their credits. Sen. Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa West) sponsored 7 Bills; and his successor now colleague in the senate in the person of Sen. Umaru Tanko Almakura (Nasarawa South) has 5 Bills.

One of Adamu’s bills has been passed; one has been read the first time and four are at committee. Two out of Almakura’s 5 bills have been read the first time, and two are at committee while none has been passed yet.

Sen. Suswam Torwua Gabriel (Benue North-East) comes third in bills sponsorship from his state with 7 bills among which none have been passed and five are at first reading.

The senators with the lowest number of bills are Sen Godiya Akwashiki (Nasarawa North) with 1 bill, Sen. Ashiru Oyelola Yisa (Kwara South) with 2 bills, Sen. Jibrin Isah (Kogi East), 3 bills and as earlier mentioned, the only female in the pack Sen. Nora Ladi Daduut (Plateau South) with no bill.

north-central senators
Senators from north-central and bills tally


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here