21.8 C
Sunday, August 14, 2022

...bridging the gap between people and parliament

Assembly UpdatesMIDTERM: Imo NASS members gain 45 bills in partisan pattern

MIDTERM: Imo NASS members gain 45 bills in partisan pattern

OrderPaperToday – Split along almost equal partisan lines, the 13-member Imo state national assembly contingent collectively sponsored a total of 45 Bills at midterm of the current assembly.

The senators from the three senatorial districts have a total of 15 Bills, which is an improvement from the five bills sponsored in their first year. On the other hand, the rep members from Imo have 30 bills which is also an improvement from their nine bills in year one.

Top on the list is Sen. Ezenwa Francis Onyewuchi (PDP, Imo East), who sponsored eight Bills in the period under review. Of his eight Bills, Older Persons (Rights and Privileges) Bill 2019 (SB. 114) has been passed.

Onyewuchi is closely followed by Sen. Rochas Okorocha (APC, Imo West Senatorial District) with seven Bills. This is an improvement from last year, when he was without a bill. Okorocha is new to the Senate and the former governor of Imo State (29 May 2011 – 29 May 2019).

Lastly, Sen. Frank Ibezim (APC, Imo North), who is without a bill, replaced Sen. Benjamin Uwajumogu, who passed away in December 2019. Before his demise, he had sponsored two Bills.

Imo Senators
How the Imo Senate Contingent Stand on Bills

In the House of Representatives, freshman Paschal Obi (APC, Ideato North/Ideato South) introduced seven bills while ranking and highly influential Nwawuba Henry Ndochukwu (PDP, Ikeduru/Mbaitoli) sponsored six.

The lone female Imo representative, Miriam Onouha (APC, Isiala Mbano/Okigwe/Onuimo) and Ugonna Ozurigbo (APC, Isu/Njaba/Nkwere/Nwangele) sponsored five Bills each. Next is Bede Uchenna Eke (PDP, Aboh-Mbaise/Ngor Okpala), with four Bills to his name.

Additionally, Kingsley Chima Uju (APC, Ohaji/Egbema/Oguta/Oru-West) has sponsored two bills while Emeka Martins Chinedu (PDP, Ahiazu Mbaise/Ezinihitte) introduced one Bill.

Several of the Bills sponsored by the members are awaiting second reading. The 30 bills sponsored by the Imo reps make up for 2.2% of the total number of bills sponsored by the reps in the 9th Assembly.

The only members without a Bill are Chike John Okafor (APC, Ehime Mbano/Ihite- Uboma/Obowo). He replaced  Nwajiuba Chukwuemeka who was made Minister of State for Education shortly after his inauguration into the House.

Also, Alagbaoso Jerry (PDP, Orlu/Oru East/Orsu), a three-time ranking member, is without a bill to his name in two years of the 9th assembly.

Imo Reps
Bills Tally of Imo Reps
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

- Advertisement -spot_img