OrderPaperToday – Senator Ibikunle Amosun was one of 16 former governors sworn in at the inauguration of the ninth Senate of the Nigerian National Assembly.

The Senate was inaugurated on Tuesday, June 11, 2019. With the emergence of the immediate past Governor of Bayelsa State, Henry Seriake Dickson of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) as winner of Bayelsa West Senatorial District by-election, the number of ex-governors rose to 17 in the Senate.

This number represents 15.6 percent of the 109 members of the Senate in the Red Chamber.

It is a common knowledge that the primary function of parliaments is to make law.

Law in Nigeria starts out as a bill introduced by the legislators. In her Mid-term Scorecard for the Senate, OrderPaper Nigeria examines how the former governors are faring in the area of bills.

Senator Amosun, who had served two consecutive tenure as governor of Ogun State and currently representing Ogun Central at the upper chamber, lead the team of ex-governors with 15 bills. This is, according to data gathered, an improvement on the 6 bills he sponsored in the first year of the 9th Senate.

Behind Sen. Amosun are five other ex-governors – Sen. Abdullahi Adamu (APC, Nasarawa West); Sen. Theodore Ahamefule Orji (PDP, Abia Central); Sen. Suswam Torwua Gabriel (PDP, Benue North-East); Sen. Rochas Okorocha (APC, Imo West); and Sen Kassim Shetima (APC, Borno Central) with 7 bills each.

Senators Adamu and Orji maintained their records of 7 bills each at the first year of the Senate, while others made improvements the number of sponsored bills.

Senator Tanko Al-Makura, representing Nasarawa South, who is serving his first tenure at the Senate has 5 bills which is an improvement on the first year.

Another first timer in upper chamber, former Governor of Bayelsa State, Sen. Henry Seriake Dickson (PDP, Bayelsa West) has no bill standing in his name. This is perhaps excusable given that he was only sworn in in December last year.

Senator Wamakko Magatakarda Aliyu, (APC, Sokoto North), who has 5 in the first year was able to make it up to 6 bills standing in his name in the second year of this Senate.

While Sen. Samuel Egwu (PDP, Ebonyi North) has 5 bills, Sen Orji Kalu (APC, Abia North) has 4 and Senators Gaidam Alhaji Ibrahim (APC, Yobe East) Danjuma Goje (APC, Gombe Central), Adamu Aliero (APC, Kebbi Central) have 2 bills each.

Just as Sen Egwu was able to improve on the number of sponsored bills, Senators Gaidam, Goje and Aliero maintained their first year records.

Former Governor of Enugu State, Senator Chimaroke Nnamani also maintained his first year record of 1 bill just as ex-governor of Kano State, Senator Ibrahim Shekarau representing Kano Central also maintained the 1 bill sponsorship in two years.

Midterm Bills Tally of Former Govs
How Former Governors Fared on Bills at Midterm


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here