OrderPaperToday – Membership of the Bayelsa State team in the National Assembly has been distorted due largely to the election of incumbent Governor Duoye Diri barely months after getting to the Senate.

His deputy, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo, was also initially elected as senator in 2019. Thus the gains of the governorship became the loss of the senate and replacements needed to be made. This brought Henry Seriake Dickson, the immediate past governor; and Cleopas Moses Zuwoghe into the mix to complete the list of three in the senate.

However at midterm of the 9th senate, only Sen. Biobarakuma Wangagha Degi, representing Bayelsa East, is able to boast of bills so far. He got 4 bills to his credit. He is the only one of the trio who started serving since the first legislative year of the 9th Senate.

New entrants, Sen. Dickson, representing Bayelsa West and Sen. Zuwoghe of Bayelsa Central have not been able to muster any bill to their credit yet. Both men were only sworn into the senate in December last year.

Bayelsa Senators
How the Bayelsa Senators Fared on Bills

In the House of Representatives, Agbedi Frederick Yeitiemone (PDP, Ekeremor/Sagbama) is the sponsor of the highest number of bills at 7 and constituting 77.78% of total bills sponsored by the Bayelsa members. He sponsored 4 of those bills in the first legislative year,

He is followed by Obua Azibapu Fred (PDP, Ogbia) who has sponsored 2 bills (22.22%), both in the first year.

However, Israel Sunny Goli  (APC, Brass/Nembe), Stephen Sinikiem Azaiki  (PDP, Yenagoa/Kolokuma Opokuma) and Preye Influence Goodluck Oseke (APC, Southern Ijaw) have not sponsored any bill in two years.

From a broad perspective therefore, Bayelsa Rep members have only sponsored 0.6% of the bills sponsored in the Green Chamber at midterm.

Bayelsa Reps
How Bayelsa Reps Stand on Bills


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here