OrderPaperToday- The three senators from Gombe have sponsored 6 Bills, while their House of Representatives counterparts have 29, totaling 34 at midterm of the 9th assembly. The Gombe senators’ six bills make up a paltry 0.8% of the total bills sponsored by 109 senators in the 9th Assembly.  Interestingly all the senators have sponsored two Bills each. Similarly, they were also elected into the 9th Assembly on the All Progressives Congress (APC) platform. Both of Sen. Amos Bulus Kilawang’s (Gombe South Senatorial District) Bills have scaled through to the Committee stage, giving him a decent edge over his colleagues. Contrarily, Sen. Saidu Ahmed Alkali (Gombe North Senatorial District) has one at Committee and the other at 1st reading stage. Additionally, Sen. Danjuma Goje Mohammed, a returnee member of the senate and ex-governor of Gombe State (May 2003 – May 2011) has his bills at first reading.

Gombe senators
Gombe Senators Bills Tally

However, the six members representing the different constituencies in Gombe seem to have a fared a bit better in the midterm report. With 29 Bills in the kitty, they have gone 16 bills better from the 13 bills in the first legislative year. The following members stood out the most: Abubakar Yunusa Ahmad (Yamaltu/Deba Federal Constituency) tops the Bills chart with 16 Bills. He added an impressive 15 bills in his second year in the house. However, all of his Bills are awaiting second reading. Next is Aishatu Jibril Dukku (Dukku/Nafada Federal Constituency), one of the very few female representatives in the 9th Assembly. She has a total of eight Bills to her name, which is two up from the six she sponsored last year. One Bill that stands out is the ELECTORAL ACT (REPEAL & AMENDMENT) BILL which is currently enmeshed in the controversy of passage. It is one of the most anticipated Bills in the House. Although the Nationally Assembly had promised to pass and transmit it for presidential accent in the first quarter of 2021, this is yet to happen. Mela Victor (Balanga/Billiri Federal Constituency) and Karu Simon Elisha (Kaltungo/Shongom Federal Constituency) have three Bills each. Meanwhile, Usman Bello Kumo (Akko Federal Constituency) has sponsored one Bill. The only member who is yet to sponsor any Bill is Bauchi Yaya Tango (Gombe/Kwami/Funakaye). Just like their Senate counterparts, all members were elected into the 9th Assembly on the APC platform.

Gombe Report
How Gombe Reps Stand on Bills


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here