OderPaperToday– Senators representing the three senatorial districts in Katsina have sponsored a total of seven Bills in two years.

They are four bills up from the first year where they had only three bills. Their counterparts in the House of Representatives have only 20 Bills between 15 of them. With a total of 27 Bills, the Katsina lawmakers fall under the states with the lowest numbers on the Bills chart.

Analyses of the Bills show that Sen. Ahmad Baba-Kaita (APC, Katsina North) sponsored four Bills. One has been passed, one is at the Committee stage, and two have been read for the first time.

Also, Sen. Kabir Abdullahi Barkiya (APC, Katsina Central) has two Bills to his name at the Committee stage.

Lastly, Sen. Bello Mandiya (APC, Katsina South) has sponsored only one Bill, and the Senate has passed it.

The two bills by Katsina senators that have been passed are on proposed educational institutions.

Thus the senators’ total bills make up for 1.0% of the total number of bills sponsored in two years by the senators of 9th Assembly.

Katsina Senators
How Senators from Katsina Performed on Bills

For the 20 bills sponsored by the Reps which is 12 bills up from the 8 bills sponsored in the first year, Aminu Ashiru Mani (APC, Bindawa/Mani) leads with six Bills in the green chamber.

Following with four Bills is Nasiru Sani Zangon Daura (APC, Zango/Baure) and with three Bills is Abdulkadir Armaya’u (APC, Dutsin-Ma/Kurfi).

In the two Bills category is Abubakar Yahaya Kusada (APC, Ingawa/Kankia/Kusada). Several of these Bills are awaiting second reading.

Additionally, Sada Soli Jibia (APC, Katsina Kaita/Jibia) has sponsored one Bill- the controversial Water Resources Bill (HB. 921). The Bill was met with public outcry and backlash because it contained sections that could breach Nigerian’s right to water.

Others who also have sponsored only one Bill are: Dandutse Muntari Mohammed (APC, Funtua/Dandume), Fatuhu Muhammed (APC, Daura/Sandamu/Mai’adua), Amiru Tukur (APC, Bakori/Danja), and Babangida Ibrahim (APC, Malumfashi/Kafur).

Members without any Bill include: Ahmed Dayyabu Safana (APC, Batsari/Safana/Danmusa), Hamza Dalhatu Batagarawa (APC, Batagarawa/Charanchi/Rimi), Murtala Isah Kankara (APC, Faskari/Kankara/Sabuwa), Salisu Iro Isansi (APC, Katsina), Mansir Aliyu Mashi (APC, Mashi/Dutsi), and Ahmed Usman Liman (APC, Matazu/Musawa).

In summary, none of the Katsina federal lawmakers made the bills productivity chart in either the Senate or House of Representatives.

Katsina Reps
How Katsina Reps Stand on the Bills Chart


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here