OrderPaperToday РZamfara state presents an interesting case as far the midterm reporting on bills sponsorship is concerned. Due to the controversy that trailed the election of the the state governor and other representatives of the state, the representatives of the state in the 9th Assembly started out as an all Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) affair. 

However, by midway into the tenure, the partisan positions have experienced a turn owing to a series of defections from PDP to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC). Starting with Sen. Mohammed Hassan Gusau who took the lead in the defection drama, almost all other political operative from the state have all defected to the ruling party.

In terms of bills sponsorship, the three senators have a total of 9 bills between them: Sen. Ya’u Sahabi (Zamfara North), who has been a serving senator since 2007, has sponsored 5 bills. Three of these have been read the first time while the other two have been sent to the relevant committees.

--Sponsored Content --

Sen. Mohammed Hassan Gusau (Zamfara Central) was senator from 2007-2011 before his re-election in 2019. He has so far sponsored 4 bills, two of which have been read the first the time.

Sen. Lawali Hassan Anka a former House member now currently senator representing Zamfara West has no bills yet.

Zamfara Senators
Bills Tally of Zamfara Senators

The members of the House of Representatives from Zamfara are all first timers. The highest contributor to the bills aggregate is Sulaiman Abubakar Gumi, representative of Gummi/Bukkuyum federal constituency with 8 bills; while Kabiru Amadu representing Gusau/Tsafe has one bill to his name.

Kabiru Yahaya representing Anka/Talata Mafara, Ahmed Muhammad Bakura representing Bakura/Maradun, Shehu Ahmed representing Bungudu/Maru, Bello Hassan Shinkafi representing Shinkafi/Zurmi, and Umar Sani Dan-Galadima representing Kaura – Namoda/Birnin Magaji have no bills to their names.

Zamfara Reps
Reps Bills Tally of Zamfara State


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here