20.9 C
Monday, August 15, 2022

...bridging the gap between people and parliament

Lawan announces seven-man Conference committee on Sexual Harassment Bill

Lawan announces seven-man Conference committee on Sexual Harassment Bill

OrderPaperToday – President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan has announced a seven-man Conference Committee on the Sexual Harassment of Students in Tertiary Institutions Prohibition Bill.

Lawan made the announcement on the membership of the Conference Committee during plenary on Tuesday.

The bill which was sponsored by the Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege representing Delta Central District, was passed by the Upper Chamber on 7th July, 2020.

READ ALSO: Omo-Agege: Why I sponsored Sexual Harassment bill

The committee has Senator Micheal Opeyemi Bamidele (Ekiti Central), as the Chairman. 

Other members include: Senators Betty Apiafi, Stella Oduah, Abubakar Kyari, Suleiman Umar, Suleiman Abdu Kwari, and Kola Balogun

Members of the Conference Committee are expected to meet with their counterparts in the House of Representatives to harmonise the two versions of the bill passed by both chambers.

Ojochenemi Onje-James
Ojochenemi Onje-James
Ojochenemi Onje-James is a research writer and journalist with years of proven footprints in areas of crime and politics. She has M.Sc in International Relations and Strategic Studies; and B.Sc in Mass Communication.
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

- Advertisement -spot_img