OrderPaperToday – The Lagos State House of Assembly has increased the number of its standing committees from 24 obtained in the last assembly to 32.The new committees are: Wealth Creation and Employment; Central Business Districts; Special Duties; Inter Governmental Relations; Energy and Mineral Resources; Waterfront Infrastructure Development; Commerce, Industries and Cooperatives; and Tourism, Arts and Culture.
This development occurred Monday when the assembly carried a motion titled “Amendment of the Standing Committees of the Lagos State House of Assembly” presented on the floor of the House by the Majority Leader, Mr. Sanai Agunbiade.
Agunbiade noted that pursuant to a resolution of the assembly on Tuesday, June 16, 2015, an ad-hoc committee was set up to break up the current standing committees contained in its Standing Orders with the objective of enhancing efficiency.
He said the creation of additional standing committees was also necessitated by Governor Akinwunmi Ambode’s Executive Order (No. EO/AA01 of 2015) on changes to the composition, duties and nomenclature of some Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) in Lagos State.
“The changes in the ministerial responsibilities and nomenclatures of the affected MDAs will cause consequential changes in the oversight functions of corresponding House Committees, different from what is hitherto obtainable,” the lawmaker said.
    Reported by Temitayo Peters | Nov 2, 2015



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here