OrderPaperToday –  On the list of top ten bills sponsor in the House of Representatives, the lawmaker from Abia State, Mrs. Nkiruka Onyejeocha is the only female.

Accordingly, she leads the chart in terms of females with the highest number of bills. The Deputy Chief Whip of the House, who represents Isikuato/Umunneochi federal constituency of Abia State on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has 19 bills to her name.

The fourth term member sponsored key bills like the National Commission against the Proliferation of Small Arms and Light Weapons Bill, 2019, Securitization bill 2019, Payment Systems Management bill 2019, Assets Management Corporation of Nigeria, Nigeria Assets Management Agency (Establishment and Regulatory) bill 2019,  National Youth Service Corps Act (Amendment) Bill 2019, Peoples Bank of Nigeria Act (Repeal) Bill, 2019, Psychiatric Hospitals Management Board Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019, and Related Products (Registration, Etc.) Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019.

Next to Mrs. Onyejeocha is Mrs. Taiwo Olukemi Oluga representing Ayedaade/Irewole/Isokan  from Osun State, also on the platform of APC. She is a first timer and the chairman of Women in Parliament Committee. She has sponsored 9 bills including the National Assembly Budget and Research of (Establishment) bill 2019, bill on Patent & Design Act, 2020; Women’s Representation in Legislative Houses bill,  2020, Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (Alteration) bill, 2020 (HB. 796) and bill on Price Control Act (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

Featured on the list is Beni Lar from Langtang North, Langtang South federal Constituency of Plateau State and a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). She was elected into the Green Chamber in 2007 which makes her a fourth termer. She currently has sponsored 8 bills within one year in the 9th assembly.

Mrs. Lynda Ikpeazu is one of the most visible lawmakers in the 9th House of Representatives. The ex-beauty queen-turned-politician is representing Onitsha North/South federal constituency of Anambra State. She has sponsored 7 bills in the ninth assembly which placed her fourth on the female bill chart. These include Judgment Debt (Payment Guidelines) bill, 2019, Federal Medical Centre, Onitsha, Anambra (Establishment) bill, 2019, National Metallurgical Training Institute, Onitsha, bill, 2019, United Nations Convention on Arms Trade Treaty, 2019 and Federal Medical Centre, Onitsha, Anambra (Establishment) bill, 2019.

Mrs. Aisha Dukku represents Dukku/ Nafada federal constituency of Gombe State. She was a member, Board of Trustees of the APC and was first elected a member of the federal legislature in 2015 on the party’s platform. She is chairman House committee on Electoral Matters and Political Parties. She has sponsored 6 bills in the ninth assembly which placed her on fifth position.

Zainab Gimba is representing Bama, Ngala, Kala-Balge federal constituency, Borno State (APC). In the past one year, Gimba has sponsored some bills such as the Federal Housing Authority Act (Repeal and Enactment) Bill, 2019 and the Nigerian Institute of Management Act (Amendment) Bill, 2019. This achievement puts her fifth on the bill chart.

Also, Mrs. Adewunmi Oriyomi Onanuga, represents  Ikenne/Sagamu/Remo North federal constituency of  Ogun State on the platform of APC. She is a first timer and chairs the House Committee on Women Affairs and Social Development.  She has sponsored two bills and therefore comes number six on the bill table.

Miriam Onuoha represents Isiala Mbano/Onuimo/Okigwe federal constituency in Imo State. The lawmaker sponsored the Cannabis Control Bill 2020, a bill which seeks to regulate the cultivation, possession, availability and trade in cannabis for medical and research purposes).

On her part, Mrs. Ogunlola Omowunmi Olubumi hails from Ekiti State. She was first elected into the federal House of Representatives in 2019 and on the platform of the APC. She also has one bill to her name.

Mrs. Tolulope Akande-Sadipe represents Oluyole federal constituency, Oyo State in 2019 on the platform of APC and is currently the Chairman of the House Committee on Diaspora.  Sadipe might not have sponsored a bill yet but has gained recognition in the federal legislature for tough stance while engaging the executive during committee meetings.

Other female Members without bills are: Blessing Onoh from Benue State. She is of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA); and Mrs. Khadija Bukar Abba represents Damaturu/Gujba/Gulan/Tarmuwa federal constituency of Yobe State. She was made the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs by President Muhammadu Buhari but later resigned and contested in 2019 and was re-elected on the platform of APC.

Recall that the spokesman of the House of Representatives, Mr. Benjamin Kalu, during a press briefing to mark the House one year in office, disclosed that 853 bills has been introduced in the House and there were at  various stages.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here