OrderPaperToday – The return of 17 former Governors to the 9th Senate after the 2019 general elections was widely received with reservations.

Some criticised the fact that the red chamber had turned to retirement homes for former governors.

Bearing this in mind, we examine how each of these former governors fared in bill sponsorship within their first year in office. This report is guided by data obtained exclusively obtained by OrderPaperNG.

Topping the list are Senators Theordore Orji (PDP, Abia Central)and Abdullahi Adamu (APC, Nasarawa West). Both are returning lawmakers with seven bills each.

The following are Orji’s bills: Federal Polytechnic Aba (Est,etc) Bill 2019, Food Security Bill 2019, Nigeria Investment Promotion Commission Act Cap N117 LFN 2004 Repeal and Re-enactment bill, Nigerian Metallurgical Industry Bill 2019, Deoxyribonucleic Acid (DNA) Bill 2019, National Energy Reform Bill 2019 and Constitution (Alteration) Bill 2019.

Adamu’s bills are: Tertiary Education Trust Fund Act Cap E4 LFN 2004 (Amendment ) Bill 2019, Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria (Amendment) Bill 2019, National Agricultural Development Fund (Est, etc) Bill 2019, National Land Reform Commission Bill 2019, Export Prohibition Act Cap E22 LFN 2004 (Repeal and Re-enactment) Bill 2019, Constitution (Alteration ) Bill 2019 and National Food Reserve Agency (Est, etc) Bill 2019.

Coming next are Senators Ibikunle Amosun (APC, Ogun Central)and Kashim Shettimma (APC, Borno Central) with 6 bills respectively.

While Amosun once served in previous assemblies, Shettima is a newbie in the red Chamber.

Amosun sponsored the following bills: Federal University of Medicine and Medical Sciences Abeokuta, Ogun State (Est,etc) Bill 2019, Electronic Transactions Bill 2019, South West Development Commission (Est, etc) Bill 2019, Investment and Security Act (Amendment) Bill 2019, Chartered Institute of Stockbrokers (Est, etc) Bill 2019 and Child rights Act 2003 (Amendment) Bill 2019.

Shettima owns the following bills: Mental Health Bill 2019, Alternative Dispute Resolution bill 2019, Geospatial Information Regulation bill, Trade Mark Act (Amendment) bill, Nigerian Arabic Language Village (Est, etc) bill 2020 and Federal Polytechnic Maiduguri (Est, etc) Bill 2020.

Senator Aliyu Wammako (APC, Sokoto North), a returning lawmaker comes close with five bills.

His bills are: Federal Polytechnic Silame, Sokoto State (Est, etc) Bill 2019, Compulsory Free Universal Education Act (Amendment) Bill 2019, Pension Reform Act (Amendment) Bill 2019, National Commission for the Eradication of Child Destitution (Est, etc) Bill 2019 and National War College Act (Amendment) Bill 2019.

With four bills is Senator Gabriel Suswam (PDP, Benue North East). He is also a first timer in the red chamber.

His bills are: National Assembly Inauguration Bill 2019, Constitution (Alteration ) Bill 2019, Terrorism (Prevention) Act 2003 (Amendment) Bill 2020 ans Debt Management Office Act 2003 (Amendment) Bill 2020.

Danjuma Goje, former governor of Gombe State, has three bills to his name. He represents Gombe Central on the platform of the APC and is a returnee member of the senate.

Four Senators who were ex-governors have two bills to their name.

They are Kabiru Gaya (APC, Kano South), Ibrahim Gaidam (APC, Yobe East), Samuel Egwu (PDP, Ebonyi North), Adamu Aliero (APC, Kebbi Central) and the Minority Leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe (PDP, Abia South).

Bills sponsored by Gaya are: National Road Fund (Est, etc) Bill 2019 and Federal Medical Centre Rano, Kano State (Est, etc) Bill 2019

Gaidam introduced National Cohesion and Integration Commission (Establishment, etc) Bill 2019 and National Agency for Education, Rehabilitation, De-radication and Integration of Insurgents (Est, etc) Bill 2020.

Egwu sponsored Federal College of Education (Technical) Abakiliki, Ebonyi State (Est, etc) Bill 2019 and Sickle Cell Anaemia (Prevention and Management) Bill 2019.

Also, Aliero’s two bills are: Federal University Burning Kebbi (Est, etc) bill 2019 and Federal Revenue Enforcement Corps (Est, etc) bill 2019

Senators Umaru Tanko Al-makura (APC, Nasarawa South) and Chimaroke Nnamani (PDP, Enugu East) sponsored one bill each.

Tanko introduced Fire Arms Control Act (Repeal and Re-enactment) bill 2020 while Nnamani sponsored Social Assistance bill 2019.

There are three former Governors in the 9th upper legislative chamber with no bills after spending a year in office.

They are Senators Ibrahim Shekarau (APC, Kano Central), Rochas Okorocha (APC, Imo West), and Orji Uzor-Kalu (APC, Abia North).

It is worthy to note that a lawmaker can be productive in other legislative duties asides bill sponsorship.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here