OrderPaperToday – In what seems like submission to public opinion, President Muhammadu Buhari today swallowed his words and named ministries for all 36 ministers at the swearing-in ceremony today.
The president also announced officially that he would retain the Ministry of Petroleum as substantive minister whilst Mr. Ibe Kachikwu is assigned as the Minister of State in the ministry.

The President while in a foreign trip to India told the nation that the lean purse of the government would not permit all ministerial appointees to be assigned portfolios and said he appointed 36 of them to meet the constitutional requirement of one minister per state.

But public opinion had been divided on the matter as many questioned the rationale of appointing ministers without portfolio with some asking President Buhari to reconsider his decision as it would be unfair to give ministries to some and make others wallow around as fill-in-the-gap ministers.

--Sponsored Content --

President Buhari however, made a U-turn after administering the oath of office on the ministers when he announced portfolios for all 36 appointees, laying to rest all anxieties on the cabinet which has been expected since his swearing-in over five months ago.

In a speech at the ceremony, the president charged the ministers to be sensitive to the yearnings and demands of Nigerians saying, the burden on the administration is a huge one that required the full efforts of the team to realize the campaign manifesto of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The oaths of office was administered on the ministers in batches of four at a ceremony which had in attendance the vice president, Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President Bukola Saraki, Speaker, House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, some state governors and other senior officials of the federal government.

The ministers and their portfolios are as follows:

Lai Mohammed –Information

Udo Udo Udoma –Budget and National Planning

Heineken Lokpobiri –State for Agric

Okechukwu Enelamah –Industry Trade and Investment

Aisha Abubakar –  State for Trade, Industry and Investment

Khadija Bukar Abba –  State for Foreign Affairs

Claudius Daramola –State, Niger Delta

Geoffrey Onyeama –Foreign Affairs

Isaac Adewole Folorunsho –Health

Rotimi Amaechi –Transportation

Chris Ngige –Labour and Employment

Kayode Fayemi –Solid Minerals

Babatunde Fashola –Power, Works and Housing

Abdulrahman Dambazau –Interior

Aisha Alhassan –Women Affairs

Ogbonnaya Onu –Science and Technology

Solomon Dalong –Youths and Sports

Ibe Kachikwu –State for Petroleum

Osagie Ehanire –State for Health

Audu Ogbeh –Agriculture

Amina Mohammed –Environment

Ibrahim Usman Jibril –State, Environment

Kemi Adeosun –Finance

Abubakar Malami –Justice

Hadi Sirika –State for Aviation

Abubakar Bwari Bawa –State for Solid Minerals

Adebayo Shittu –Communications

Suleiman Adamu –Water Resources

Anthony Onwuka – State for Education

Muhammadu Bello –FCT

Adamu Adamu –Education

Monsur Dan-Ali –Defence

James Ocholi –  State for Labour

Zainab Ahmed – State for Budget

Mustapha Shehuri –State for Power

Usani Usani Uguru – Niger Delta



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here