OrderPaperToday – The Senator representing Yobe North Senatorial District, Ahmad Lawan, has emerged as the President of the Senate for the 9th National Assembly.

The Senator who lost the senate president election in 2015 survived the onslaught from Sen. Ali Ndume (APC, Borno) who challenged him for the position.

Lawan scored 79 votes while Ndume got 28. A total of 107 senators voted while two senators-elect were not in chamber. He was consequently declared winner by the umpire.

Lawan, a former majority leader was nominated by Yahya Abdulahi (APC, Kebbi) and seconded by Sen. Solomon Yayi (APC, Lagos).

The election was not without rancor as several members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) called for the use of the 2011 standing order, while dissenting views called for the use of 2015 standing order which favors open secret ballot.

The umpire and presiding officer for the exercise, the Clerk of the National Assembly, Sani Omolori while attempting to diffuse the rancor stated, “We are here for a fundamental constitutional issue, and I have not received any court order. I will not entertain any question.”

Here’s what you need to know about Ahmed Lawan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here