21 C
Monday, August 15, 2022

...bridging the gap between people and parliament

National Assembly#RoadTo2023: Amid impeachment threat, See 10 APC Senators set to defect

#RoadTo2023: Amid impeachment threat, See 10 APC Senators set to defect


It is apparent that a good number of Senators are still aggrieved over the manner in which the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) handled the last primaries; leading to a loss of their return tickets to the National Assembly.

Following this development, some of the lawmakers have since dumped the party for various opposition parties, while others appear to be warming up to decamp ahead of the deadline for substitution or withdrawal of candidates.

There are however speculations that about ten of these Senators have already jumped ship and submitted their letters affirming the same to the Senate leadership. In this light, the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan was recently accused of refusing to read the letters in order not to upset his party’s dominance in the legislative chamber.

Speculations are rife that given the current composition of the Senate where the number of APC Senators has drastically reduced, further defection into the ranks of the opposition will threaten Lawan’s hold of the house.

More so, coming at a time when the Senate President will have to be on double alert to put the opposition lawmakers who have called for President Muhammadu Buhari’s impeachment (on resumption from their recess) in check.

Expectedly, the Senate President has denied the allegation.

Inspite of his rebuttal, fresh reports emerged that at least ten Senators who have finalised their defection plans will be joining the opposition, especially the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP).

Some of the alleged Senators are Senator Adamu Bulkachuwa (Bauchi North), Senator Ladi Dadu’ut (Plateau South), Senator Bello Mandiya (Katsina South), Senator Ibrahim Oloriegbe (Kwara Central); Senator Danladi Sankara (Jigawa West), Senator Sabi Aliyu Abdullahi (Niger North).

Others are Senator Smart Adeyemi (Kogi West), Senator Yakubu Oseni (Kogi Central), Senator Isah Hamma Misau and Senator Halliru Dauda (Bauchi Central).

The APC National Chairman, Abdullahi Adamu, had on June 23, met with the APC Senators and the Senate President before a subsequent meeting with President Buhari at the Presidential Villa on a later date.

Adamu appeared to have been worried at the wave of defections amongst the APC Senators and had to come to the National Assembly to dissuade the lawmakers from jumping ship at a crucial time as this.

The five minority parties in the Upper Chamber currently boast of 44 Senators with the PDP having 39 Senators while the Young Progressives Party (YPP) have two Senators. Other parties; the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Labour Party and the New Nigeria Peoples’ Party (NNPP) all have one Senator each.

Some members of the House of Representatives are also said to be contemplating leaving the APC for other parties within the month.

Tammy Asawo-Fila
Tammy Asawo-Fila
A quick-thinking, result-oriented and creative individual with a burning devotion to work and people skills. A Law Graduate from the North American University, Benin Republic, he is currently a Programme Assistant at OrderPaper Nigeria where he does research, data analysis, and reports news.
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

- Advertisement -spot_img