Imo assembly suspends four members over ‘impeachment plot’

Abdullahi A BalogunJuly 3, 20242 min

Crisis is brewing in the Imo State House of Assembly as four members are slammed with suspension over alleged impeachment plot

Rt. Hon. Chike Olemgbe, Imo Assembly speaker in impeachment plot

The Imo State House of Assembly has suspended four lawmakers indefinitely for allegedly plotting to impeach the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Chike Olemgbe.

The speaker made this known during a 20-minute plenary on Tuesday, where he accused the four lawmakers of inciting other members and scheming for his impeachment, an act he termed as an “unparliamentary conduct”.

READ MORE: Meet members of the 10th National Assembly from Imo state

The Speaker said the decision to suspend them was taken at an executive session. He also announced that all standing committees in which the suspended members serve be retrieved from them.

L-R (Dominic Ezerioha, Chidiebere Ogbunikpa, Henry Agbasonu, Samuel Otuibe)

The legislators axed for the alleged impeachment plot are: Samuel Otuibe (Ahiazu-Mbaise constituency), Henry Agbasonu (Ezinihitte-Mbaise constituency), Chidiebere Ogbunikpa (Okigwe constituency) and Dominic Ezerioha (Oru-west).

What executive session means

An executive session in parliamentary terms means a closed-door meeting where members discuss sensitive or confidential matters without the presence of the media or public. It is often the case that critical decisions are taken at such sessions.

Abdullahi A Balogun

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy