Senate sets up 43-member panel for 1999 Constitution review

Sharon EboesomiFebruary 14, 20245 min

Senate President, Akpabio said the committee would be inaugurated on Tuesday, next week for them to commence work immediately.

Senate President, Akpabio sets up 43-member panel for 1999 Constitution review

The President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, has named a 43-member ad-hoc committee to further review the 1999 Constitution.

Akpabio who announced the Chairman and Members of the Committee stressed the importance of the Constitution review saying, “There is a need for us to touch on some aspects of the constitution to bring them in line with current realities, particularly with the era of artificial intelligence and some of the things that we have observed that need to be put right.”

READ ALSO: Reps to review constituency development fund bill

According to him, the 43-member Committee is to be chaired by the Deputy Senate President, Senator Barau Jibrin (APC, Kano North) with Senator Opeyemi Bamidele (APC, Ekiti Central) as its Vice Chairman.

Other principal officers on the membership of the committee are Deputy Senate Leader – Oyelola Ashiru (APC, Kwara South), Chief Whip – Ali Ndume (APC, Borno South), Deputy Whip – Peter Nwebonyi (APC, Eboni North), Minority Leader – Abba Moro (PDP, Benue South), Deputy Minority Leader – Kamorudeen Oyewumi Olalere (PDP, Osun West), Minority Whip – Osita Ngwu (PDP, Enugu West) and Deputy Minority Whip – Rufai Hanga (NNPP, Kano Central).

Those appointed to represent states include senators Enyinaya Abaribe (APC, Abia South), Binos Yaroe (PDP, Adamawa South), Ifeanyi Ubah (APC, Anambra South), Abdul Ningi (PDP, Bauchi Central), Seriake Dickson (PDP, Bayelsa West), Agom Jarigbe (PDP, Cross River North), Ned Nwoko PDP, Delta North), Adams Oshiomhole (APC, Edo North), Osita Izunaso (APC, Imo West), Danjuma Goje (PDP, Gombe Central), and Yahaya Abdullahi (PDP, Kebbi North),  Bassey Etim (PDP, Akwa Ibom North East).

Others are senators Ahmad Lawan (APC, Yobe North), Idiat Adebule (APC, Lagos West), Godiya Akwashiki (SDP, Nasarawa North), Sani Musa APC, Niger East), Ireti Kingibe (LP, FCT), Sahabi Yau (PDP, Zamfara North), Abdulfatai Buhari  (APC, Oyo North), Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan (PDP, Kogi Central), Solomon Olamilekan (APC, Ogun West), Abdulfatai Buhari (APC, Oyo North), Abdulhamid Ahmed (APC, Jigawa North East), Ibrahim Khalid (PDP, Kaduna North), and Adeniyi Adegbonmire (APC, Ondo Central), Muntari Dandutse (APC, Katsina South), Ipalibo Banigo (PDP, Rivers West), Shuaibu Lau (PDP, Taraba North).

Representatives of the geopolitical zones in the committee are Senators Adamu Aliero (PDP, Kebbi Central ) – (North West), Orji Uzor Kalu (APC, Abia North) – (South East), Francis Fadahunsi (PDP, Osun East) – (South West), Mohammed Bomai  (APC, Yobe South) – (North East), Barinada Mpigi (PDP,  Rivers South-East) – (South South), and Sadiq Suleiman (APC, Kwara North) – (North Central).

He also noted that the members were selected one from each of the 36 states of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and one from each of the six geopolitical zones.

He said, “We are taking one Senator per state because we are talking about constitution amendment  We are also taking one Senator in each geopolitical zone.”

Akpabio also directed that all the proposals for amendments to the constitution should be forwarded to the committee.

Sharon Eboesomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy