Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger announce withdrawal from ECOWAS

Elizabeth AtimeJanuary 28, 20242 min

The announcement of the membership withdrawal from ECOWAS was made on Sunday in a joint statement read out on Niger national television.

The leaders of Mali, Burkina Faso, and Niger have announced their immediate withdrawal from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

The announcement was made on Sunday in a joint statement read out on Niger national television as the countries’ military regimes would no longer be part of the bloc.

According to the statement read by Colonel Amadou Abdramane, Niger junta spokesman, “After 49 years, the valiant peoples of Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger regretfully and with great disappointment observe that the (ECOWAS) organization has drifted from the ideals of its founding fathers and the spirit of Pan-Africanism.

“The organization notably failed to assist these states in their existential fight against terrorism and insecurity,” the statement read.

Recall that in September 2023, the three countries signed a mutual defense pact to assist one another against armed rebellion or external aggression.

These countries have been struggling with jihadist violence and poverty since coups took place in Niger last July, Burkina Faso in 2022 and Mali in 2020.

All three were suspended from the charter leading to the Alliance of Sahel States which binds the countries to assist one another including militarily should there be an attack against one of them.

Following their actions, the ECOWAS imposed sanctions on the countries and threatened military action.

Elizabeth Atime

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes