Lagos Assembly rejects ‘COVID Response’ Commissioner, 16 Others as cabinet-nominees

Sharon EboesomiAugust 24, 20235 min

In a recent protest by Muslim groups in the state comprising heads of Islamic organisations, scholars and hundreds of Muslim faithful who were armed with placards, they claimed that only eight Muslims made the list of 39 cabinet nominees. 




Twenty-six days after Lagos Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu submitted its list of cabinet nominees to the State House of Assembly, the parliament has confirmed twenty-two (22) out of the thirty=nine (39) names sent for its approval.

Their confirmation took place through a voice vote on each of the nominees during Wednesday’s plenary, presided over by the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, who thereafter asked the Clerk of the House to forward the names of those cleared to the governor.

Promising in a statement signed by the Speaker’s Media Aide, Eromosele Ebhomele, that the House would continue to do its best in the interest of the state, Dr. Obasa commended the House Ad hoc committee led by the Chief Whip, Hon. Fatai Mojeed for its effectiveness and rigorous screening process. This is as he urged the confirmed nominees to always remember that they are in office to serve the people of the State and not individuals.


READ ALSO: Ministerial Screening: 7 Things you should know about the process


The list of 39 submitted on July 28 comprises youths, technocrats and politicians, 30 per cent of whom are women. Although the State Assembly did not give reasons for rejecting 17 of the cabinet nominees, at least 50 per cent of those rejected worked with the governor in his first term.

Those confirmed include: Hon. Layode Ibrahim, Mobolaji Ogunlende; Dr. Dolapo Fasawe, Hon. Bola Olumegbon, Idris Aregbe; Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya, Moruf Akinderu Fatai, Kayode Bolaji-Roberts, Engr. Abiola Olowu, Toke Benson-Awoyinka, Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih-Awokoya, Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu, Lawal Pedro SAN, Tunbosun Alake, Gbenga Oyerinde, and Dr. Adekunle Olayinka.

Others confirmed include Dr. Jide Babatunde, Afolabi Ayantayo, Tokunbo Wahab, Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu, Jamiu Alli-Balogun, and Abdulkabir Ogungbo.


READ ALSO: 10th NASS: Lagos Rep resigns hours after being sworn in


Of the seventeen nominees rejected, Gbenga Omotosho, Sam Egube, Prof Akin Abayomi, Moruf Akinderu-Fatai who were Commissioners for Information and Strategy, Budget and Economic Planning; Health and Housing, respectively, in Governor Sanwo-Olu’s first term were included.

Others rejected by the State Assembly include former Special Advisers; Engr. Aramide Adeyooye (Works and Infrastructure), Solape Hammond (SDGs), Bolaji Cecilia Dada (Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation), Engr. Olalere Odusote (Energy Resources) and Folashade Adefisayo (Education).

The House also failed to confirm Dr. Rotimi Fashola (Permanent Secretary on Agriculture), Yomi Oluyomi; Folashade Ambrose, Barakat Bakare, Olalekan Fatodu, Mosopefolu George, Seun Osiyemi, Rotimi Ogunwuyi and Dr. Olumide Oluyinka.


READ ALSO: 2023 Budget: Fact File on Proposals by States [South-West and North-West]


It is noteworthy that at least three different groups, including religious and some lawmakers in the Assembly, had protested Governor Sanwo-Olu’s nomination, with a faith-based group describing it as a classic case of discrimination and religious bigotry.

Kehinde Joseph, the lawmaker representing Alimosho Constituency 2 in the Assembly, had in early August argued that government loyalists and members of the governing party who lost out during the 2023 elections or sacrificed their ambitions for the party deserve to be nominated. Others also argued that the party has technocrats who can be nominated noting that the party appears not to have learnt its lesson from the last elections.

Similarly, some residents of Ikorodu in the state had in early August protested against the slot given to the Division, alleging marginalisation in spite of their hard work to deliver the area for the party during the March 18 governorship election.

In a recent protest by Muslim groups in the state comprising heads of Islamic organisations, scholars and hundreds of Muslim faithful who were armed with placards, they claimed that only eight Muslims made the list of 39 cabinet nominees.  Apart from accusing the governor of elevating the marginalisation of Muslims in the state to a level of official state policy, they argued that the list violated the country’s constitution in terms of recognising the diversity of the people and the need to promote a sense of belonging among the people.

According to Prof. Tajudeen Gbadamosi, President of Muslim Community of Lagos State, the governor denies Muslims their deserved positions under his administration, just as he called on the lawmakers to reject the list until another list reflecting 60% in favour of Muslims. is sent to the Assembly


Sharon Eboesomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy