10TH NASS: Meet the Chairmen of the Senate Standing Committees (South East)

Sharon EboesomiAugust 24, 20236 min

In the recent constitution of Standing Committees in the Tenth Senate, six of the fifteen Senators from the South East geo-political zone were appointed Chairmen of some key committees. In this piece, we examine the background and legislative experience of these lawmakers. 




READ ALSO: Opposition Senators chair Power, Health, Niger Delta as Akpabio announces Committees




The Red Chamber, shortly before adjourning for recess on 8th August, set up forty-six (42) standing committees to enable it to carry out its function of oversight over the executive arm of government.

With fifteen Senators from its geo-political zone, six of the South East lawmakers were appointed Chairmen of some key committees. In this piece, we examine the background, political profiles and legislative experience of these lawmakers.



  1. Senator Enyinaya Abaribe (APGA, Abia South)

    Senator Abaribe is the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Power. The All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) lawmaker is an economist and former lecturer at the Edo State University (1982 – 1985).

    Abaribe had served as Area Manager for SCOA, Senior Manager for Investment at NICON and CEO of Integrated Mortgage Co. between 1985 and 1995 before his sojourn into politics. He was elected Deputy Governor of Abia State in 1999 and served in that capacity until his resignation in 2003, the same year he unsuccessfully ran for the state’s governorship seat.


    Legislative Experience: 
    1. Senator, Abia South Senatorial District (2007 – date)
    2. Senate Minority Leader (2019 – 2022)
    3. Chairman, Senate Committee on Media and Publicity
    4. Vice Chairman, Senate Committee on Inter-Parliamentary Affairs
    5. Member, Committees on the Independent National Electoral Commission, Senate Services, and Works.


  2. Senator Osita Izunaso (APC, Imo West)

Senator Izunaso is a journalist by training and Chairman of the Senate Committee on Capital Markets. As a journalist, he served as Chief Press Secretary to the Minister for Youth and Sports between 1995 and 1997 and the Minister for Labour and Productivity (1998–1999).

He also served as Chief Press Secretary to the Speaker and Senate President in the  Fourth Assembly and later as pioneer National Organising Secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Legislative Experience: 
1. Member, House of Representatives (1992)
2. Member, House of Representatives (2003 – 2007)
3. Senator, Imo West Senatorial District (2007 – 2011)
4. Member, Committees on Rules and Business, Local and Foreign Debts, Foreign Affairs and Sports.


3. Senator Orji Uzor Kalu (APC, Abia North)

Senator Kalu is the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Privatisation. A serial entrepreneur and member of the governing All Progressives Congress (APC), Kalu is Chairman of SLOK Holding, the Daily Sun and New Telegraph newspapers in Nigeria.

He had served as Chairman of the Borno Water Board,  Cooperative and Commerce Bank Limited and also held notable positions in politics. Prior to becoming a lawmaker, he played key roles in founding the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) and the Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA) where he was Chairman of the Board of Trustees (BOT).

Kalu served as Governor of Abia State between 1999 and 2007 under the PDP platform and also ran for presidency as candidate of the PPA following the end of his tenure as governor in 2007.

Legislative Experience: 
1. Member, House of Representatives (1992)
2. Senator, Abia North Senatorial District (2019 – date)
3. Senate Chief Whip  (2019 – 2023)


READ ALSO: Ex-Senators making a comeback to the 10th National Assembly



4. Senator Victor Umeh (LP, Anambra Central)

Senator Umeh is Chairman of the Senate Committee on Diaspora and a member of the Labour Party (LP).

An Estate Valuer and Surveyor, he is the Principal Consultant at V.C. Umeh and Co. and a former Director of the Nigerian Film Corporation (2001 – 2003).

Umeh joined active politics in 1998 under the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), where he served as State Treasurer of the Anambra State Chapter between 1999 and 2001, when he quit politics. He later became National Vice Chairman (South East), National Treasurer and National Chairman, respectively, of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

Legislative Experience

1. Senator, Anambra Central Senatorial District (2018 – 2019)



5. Senator Patrick Ndubueze (APC, Imo North)

Senator Ndubueze is Chairman of the Senate Committee on Works. An engineer with over 35 years of experience, the All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmaker is also a member of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) and the Nigerian Institution of Civil Engineers.

Prior to joining active politics, he was Deputy President of the Student Union Government (SUG) in his undergraduate days. He would later be elected to the House of Representatives in 1992 at age 29. He later ran for a Senate seat in 1998 and two other occasions unsuccessfully.

Legislative Experience

1. Member, House of Representatives (1992)
2.  Chairman, House Committee on Works and Housing (1992)


READ ALSO: SDP Senator chairs SPAC as Akpabio names Senate Special Committees


6. Senator Okechukwu Ezea (LP, Enugu North)

Senator Ezea is Chairman of the Senate Committee on Ethics and Public Petitions. A lawyer by training, prior to becoming a lawmaker, he was Executive Director of Ideke Shipping Limited.

Since joining politics in 2003, he has unsuccessfully run for the office of governor in his home state of Enugu in 2003, 2007 and 2015.

Legislative Experience: Nil (He is a first-term Senator).


Sharon Eboesomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - contents@orderpaper.ng - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy