President Tinubu submits fresh batch of ‘Ministerial Nominees’ to Senate

Temidayo Taiwo-SidiqAugust 2, 20233 min

Following in the footsteps of former Presidents Goodluck Jonathan and Muhammadu Buhari who had adopted the practice of submitting their cabinet nominees in batches, President Bola Tinubu on Wednesday sent what is believed to be a final Ministerial list to the National Assembly



READ ALSO: Ministerial list: Beyond mere rituals, as Nigerians await Tinubu’s ‘(wo)men’


With the Senate set to conclude the final round of screening for the first batch of Ministerial Nominees, President Bola Tinubu has reportedly submitted the final batch of nominees to the National Assembly.

The development took place during the screening on Wednesday when Senate Leader, Opeyemi Bamidele (Ekiti Central); in line with Senate Rules moved a motion for a portion of the Standing Order to be suspended for the President’s Chief of Staff to be admitted into the Red Chamber.

Shortly after the point of order was upheld by the Presiding Officer, Godswill Akpabio; the Chief of Staff to President Tinubu; Femi Gbajabiamila walked into the chamber and approached the Chair of the Whole Senate to present the communication from the President.

The nominees are:


1.HE Simon Bako Lalong –  Plateau

  1.  HE Bello Matawwalle –  Zamfara
  2. HE Atiku Bagudu  –  Kebbi
  3. HE Adegboyega Oyetola – Osun
  4. HE Uba Maigari Ahmadu  – Taraba
  5. Senator Ibrahim Geidam –  Yobe
  6. Senator Heineken Lolokpobri –  Bayelsa
  7. Senator Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi  – Niger
  8. Senator Alkali Ahmed Saidu  – Gombe
  9. Abdullahi Tijjani Gwarzo  – Kano
  10. Tunji Alausa  – Lagos
  11. Lola Ade John  – Lagos
  12. Prof. Tahir Mamman –  Adamawa
  13.   Dr. Ishak Salako –  Ogun
  14. Dr. Bosun Tijjani  – Ogun
  15. Dr Yusuf Tanko Sununu  – Kebbi
  16. Dr. Maryam Shetti  – Kano
  17. Zaphaniah Bitrus Jisalo –  FCT
  18. Shuaibu Abubakar Audu  – Kogi



READ ALSO: Ebonyi Senator, 9 ex-lawmakers make Tinubu’s 28-Nominee Ministerial list


President Bola Tinubu had previously submitted a list of 28 ministerial nominees for screening and confirmation by the Red Chamber on July 27, 2023.

With the sixty-day constitutional window set for the President to turn in his list of his nominees for cabinet positions to the National Assembly closing at midnight Friday, President Tinubu submitted his choice men and women late Thursday, to avoid a breach of the constitution.

President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, announced receipt of the list during Thursday’s plenary when he read a communication dated 27th July 2023 from the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.


READ ALSO: Ministerial Screening: 7 Things you should know about the process



Temidayo Taiwo-Sidiq

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy