Senators to send compendium of ‘roads’ affected by erosion to FG

Sharon EboesomiJuly 19, 20233 min

According to the Motion Sponsor, Senator Barau Jibrin, the deplorable state of the roads across the country has led to a decline in agricultural activities, which is affecting the movement of agricultural produce.






The Senate has resolved to set up an Ad-hoc Committee to come up with a compendium of federal roads affected by erosion across the country to be forwarded to the Executive Arm for urgent intervention.

This was sequel to a motion titled ‘Collapse of Road Infrastructure in Nigeria,’ sponsored by Senator Barau Jibrin (APC, Kano North) and co-sponsored by one hundred and seven (107) others.

Leading the debate, the Deputy President of the Senate, who observed that there is barely any part of the country that can boast of a motorable road, added that several federal roads are in deplorable condition. He also noted that many federal roads have been awarded for either construction or rehabilitation, but the contractors end up abandoning the project.


READ ALSO: Senate to investigate contract awards for reconstruction of Aba, Ikot-Ikpene roads


According to him, “The collapse has led to a decline in agricultural activities, adversely affecting the movement of agricultural produce from rural areas and across the country, resulting in a slide in the country’s agricultural output and economy especially now the country needs to diversify its economy.”

In his contribution, Senator Sunday Karimi (APC, Kogi West) noted that should nothing be done within the next four years, lawmakers won’t be able to go to their constituencies, while expressing fear that such a development “will make his constituents see him as a failure.”

Other Senators who supported this motion are Simon Davou Mwadkwon (PDP, Plateau North), Idiat Oluranti (APC, Lagos West), Diket Plang (PDP, Plateau Central), Onyeka Nwebonyi (APC, Ebonyi North) among others.


READ ALSO: Senate adopts Senator Umeh’s motion on Onitsha-Owerri Highway


The Senate in adopting the motion constituted an ad-hoc Committee to be chaired by Senator Abdullahi Yahaya (PDP, Kebbi North). Other members of the Committee are Senators Patrick Chukwu Eze () and Victor Umeh (LP, Anambra Central) to represent the South East, Abiru Tokunbo (APC, Lagos East); South West, Aminu Tambuwal (PDP, Sokoto South); North West, Sadiku Abubakar (North Central); Asuquo Ekpenyong (APC, Cross River South South); Babangida Oseni, Adamu Aliero. Binos Yaroe and Saliu Mustapha.



Sharon Eboesomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy