Tambuwal loses out as Senators Bamidele, Mwadkwon, Others emerge Senate Principal Officers

Sharon EboesomiJuly 4, 20232 min

Following weeks of speculations about lawmakers likely to emerge as the Senate Principal Officers, the Red Chamber announces its leadership leaving out former House Speaker, Senator, Aminu Tambuwal, who had been touted a favourite for the position of Senate Minority Leader.


READ ALSO: 10TH NASS: Senate Minority Caucus alleges plot to foist one-party dictatorship




After weeks of intrigues and lobbying, the Tenth Senate has announced the full composition of leadership for the Red Chamber.

At the resumption of plenary on Tuesday following a two-week break, the President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio (APC, Akwa Ibom North West), announced the appointment of Principal Officers for the Chamber from the Majority and Minority Caucuses.

From the announcement, Senators Michael Opeyemi Bamidele (APC, Ekiti Central) and Ali Ndume (APC, Borno South) emerged as the Leader and Chief Whip of the Senate, respectively.

The lawmaker representing Ebonyi South Senatorial District, Senator David Umahi (APC, Ebonyi South) and Senator Oyelola Yisa Ashiru (APC, Kwara South), was also announced as Deputy Leader and Deputy Chief Whip of the Senate, respectively.



READ ALSO: As 10th NASS resumes, 10 issues that should top the agenda


“The APC caucus of the Senate, after due consultations, have emerged with their leadership which will be the full groom of commencing other businesses in the chambers.

I’m happy to announce that the Senate Leader is Senator Opeyemi Bamidele; he will be the Majority leader of the Senate, Senator Mohammad Ali Ndume will be the Chief Whip of the 10th Senate, Senator David Umahi, by your consent, will act as the Deputy leader and Senator Oyelola Yisa Ashiru will be the Deputy Chief Whip,”

Similarly, the Presiding Officer announced the appointment of Senator Simon Mwadkon (PDP, Plateau North) and Senator Darlington Nwokocha (LP. Abia Central) as the Senate Minority Leader and Minority Whip, respectively. Senator Oyewumi Olalere (PDP, Osun West) was announced as Senate Deputy Minority Leader, while Senator Rufai Hanga (NNPP, Kano Central) emerged Senate Deputy Minority Whip.



READ ALSO: 10TH NASS: Top 10 Newbies to look out for in the Senate





Sharon Eboesomi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - contents@orderpaper.ng - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy