Parliament Spotlight: Asuquo Ekpenyong Jnr | Youngest Senator-Elect, 10th NASS

Olamilekan Quadri AlimiApril 28, 20236 min

Contrary to the expectations of many, youth representation in the 10th National Assembly may not be as impressive as predicted. In assessing the small wins from the elections, however, this edition of Parliament Spotlight is focused on the youngest Senator-Elect in the next political dispensation.


READ ALSO: 10TH NASS: Composition of the Nigerian Senate | Parties, Ex-Governors and Deputies


Thirty-seven-year-old Asuquo Ekpenyong Jr, is not a new name in Cross River Politics, at least since 2015 when he was appointed Commissioner for Finance by Governor Benedict Ayade.

His appointment in November 2015 at the age of 29 made him one of the youngest commissioners in Nigeria during that 2015 -2019 electoral cycle. Skilled in business planning, business strategy, financial modelling and corporate finance with versatility and years of experience, he would eventually become the longest-serving Commissioner for Finance in Cross River State.

With Governor Ayade’s tenure winding down in May 2023, he took a shot at the governorship of the state under the platform of his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC). While that ambition did not materialise, or as some may say, “is yet to materialise,” Ekpenyong Jnr went on to pursue a Senatorial ambition against very experienced and renowned politicians. He was victorious in the Cross River South Senatorial elections and has etched his name in history as Nigeria’s youngest Senator-Elect going into the incoming 10th National Assembly.

There’s more to learn about the 37-year-old politician, check out his profile below:


READ ALSO: Parliament Spotlight: Rukayat Motunrayo Shittu | Youngest female Member-Elect






  • Senior Secondary School Certificate
    Kings College, Lagos
  • Bachelor of Arts, Economics (2007)
    University of Reading, United Kingdom
  • Master of Science, International Banking and Financial Services (Distinction) – 2008
    University of Reading, United Kingdom
  • Harvard Business School (2013)

Other Qualifications

  • Global Executive Leadership Programme
    Howard University Business School, Washington D.C.
  • Executive Management Development Programme
    University of Pretoria
  • The Euromoney Oil and Gas School, London
  • Member, Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria (CIBN)


READ ALSO: Parliament Spotlight: Abdul Rasheed Kashamu | Member-Elect, Ogun State House of Assembly



  • Chief Executive Officer (2009 – 2015)
    Iquasu Limited
  • Executive Director (2009 – 2015)
     Davandy Group
  •  Executive Director (2009 – 2015)
     Channel View Hotels
  • Managing Director (2010 – 2015)
    Chamley Bureau De Change Limited
  •  Member, Board of Directors (2013-2015)
    Ekondo Microfinance Bank Limited


READ ALSO: Parliament Spotlight: Muhammad Adamu Oyanki | Member-Elect, Nasarawa State House of Assembly



  • Lecturer, Department of Banking and Finance (2009 – 2012)
    Faculty of Management Sciences, University of Calabar
  • Commissioner for Finance (November 2015 – March 2022)
    Ministry of Finance, Cross River State
  • Managing Director
    Tinapa Business and Leisure Resort  (February 2016 – April 2017)
  • Commissioner for Transportation (2018)
    Ministry of Transportation and Marine Services, Cross River State

READ ALSO: EXCLUSIVE: Five things Senator-Elect, Ireti Kingibe said about her plans for FCT



  • Ekpenyong is the youngest Senator-elect in the 10th National Assembly
  • He was appointed Cross River State Commissioner at the age of 29, making him one of the youngest Commissioners in Nigeria in the 2015- 2019 electoral cycle..
  • He is also the longest-serving Commissioner of Finance in Cross River State. 
  • Won a major election using a completely data-driven and technologically innovative campaign with a very small team of young men and women. 
  • Defeated Rt Hon Daniel Asuquo, a member of the House of Representatives representing Akamkpa/ Biase Federal Constituency in the last 12 years
  • Defeated Ntufam Ekpo Okon, a member of the National Assembly member in the Second Republic, former State Commissioner and former Deputy Governorship candidate.




Olamilekan Quadri Alimi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy