Supplementary Elections: Tambuwal returns to NASS, PDP wins 3 Senate Seats

adminApril 17, 20234 min

Following the April 15 National Assembly Supplementary Polls, APC pips the PDP to clinch four Senate seats (4) in the April 15 Supplementary Elections. PDP picks the remaining three (3) seats.



READ ALSO: MVP Hall of Fame: 20 National Assembly Members make Semi-Final shortlist



Following the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC’s conclusion of supplementary elections in seven Senatorial districts on Saturday, 18th April 2023, the 10th Senate is set to take shape ahead of its inauguration in June 2023.

According to the results released, the All Progressives Congress (APC) consolidated its majority status in the Red Chamber as it secured four (4) additional seats while the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) picked up the remaining three (3) seats.

With the recent development, the All Progressives Congress (APC) now has fifty-nine (59) seats, the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) has thirty-six seats (36) and is closely followed by the Labour Party (LP) with eight seats in the Tenth National Assembly. While the New Nigeria Peoples’ Party (NNPP) and Social Democratic Party (SDP) picked two seats each, the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and Young Progressives Party (YPP) won one seat each.

See the full list of lawmakers that emerged from the supplementary polls:


  1. Kebbi North Senatorial District

    The immediate past Senate Majority Leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi, won with 98,464 votes defeating Dr Hussain Suleiman Kangiwa of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who polled 89,269 votes.
  2. Plateau Central Senatorial District

    Diket Plang of the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 131,129 votes to defeat his closest rival, Golkuna Gotum of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 127,023 votes.
  3. Sokoto East Senatorial District

    Ibrahim Lamido of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 112,764 votes to defeat Gwanda Shuaibu of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 107,834 votes.
  4. Sokoto North Senatorial District

    Incumbent Senator, Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko (APC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) secured his third term ticket to the 10th Senate Seat as he defeated the incumbent Deputy Governor, Dan’iya Manir Muhammad in Saturday’s supplementary election.Wamakko, the state’s immediate past governor, polled 141,468 votes to defeat his close rival, who scored 118,445 votes.
  5. Sokoto South Senatorial District

    The outgoing governor of the state, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, emerged winner of the Senatorial seat, as he scored 100,860 votes to defeat the incumbent Senator, Ibrahim Danbaba of the All Progressives Congress (APC),  who got 95,884 votes.

    Governor Tambuwal, who was Speaker of the 7th House of Representatives before his service as governor of Sokoto governor will be staging a return to the National Assembly exactly eight years after he exited the parliament.
  6. Yobe South Senatorial District

    Incumbent Senator, Ibrahim Bomai of All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 69,596 votes to defeat Halilu Mazagane of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 68,885 votes.
  7. Zamfara Central Senatorial District

    The Peoples’ Democratic Party, PDP’s candidate, Ikra Aliyu Bilbis,  scored 102,866 votes to defeat ex-Senator, Kabiru Marafa of the All Progressive Congress (APC) who polled 91,216 votes.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy