MVP Hall of Fame: At least 20 NASS Members, make Semifinal shortlist

adminApril 8, 20238 min

Foremost Parliamentary Monitoring Organisation, OrderPaper Nigeria announces successful lawmakers in Semifinal of first-ever Most Valuable Parliamentarian (MVP) Hall of Fame



 READ ALSO: OrderPaper Nigeria: 22 Moments and Milestones of 2022




MVP Hall of Fame


OrderPaper Nigeria and its partners have announced no fewer than twenty members of the Ninth National Assembly as Semi-Finalists for the country’s first-ever Most Valuable Parliamentarian (MVP) Hall of Fame.

In a statement released on Friday, 7th April 2023, in Abuja by the organisation’s Executive Director, Oke Epia, OrderPaper noted that the Semifinal shortlist comprises a female Senator, two Principal Officers, two Presiding Officers and ten first-term lawmakers across party lines from both the Senate and House of Representatives.

The MVP Hall of Fame initiative, which is in furtherance of OrderPaper‘s contributions to legislative strengthening and promotion of improved service delivery in the National Assembly, aims at identifying and sustaining a distinct class of legislators who are performance-driven, excellence-inspired, and public-spirited.

According to the statement, “having undertaken an independent, thorough and unprecedented data-driven annual performance appraisals of the 469-member ninth National Assembly since its first anniversary in 2020,” the organisation says it “deemed it appropriate and timely to commence instituting the Most Valuable Parliamentarian  (MVP) Hall of Fame.”

The annual appraisals focused exclusively on the core legislative function of law-making, and consideration for the MVP nomination and subsequent shortlisting essentially applied the Value, Impact, and Productivity criteria in rating those shortlisted contributions. 

While value speaks to the correlation of a bill’s advancement of the governance objective of the federal government; impact relates to the empirical contribution of a bill to the enhancement of the lives and living conditions of citizens; and productivity applies to the stage of progression of a bill to measure the diligence, dedication and hard work put into its processing by its sponsor.

DOWNLOAD: The Annual Report: Performance Appraisals Of The National Assembly (3rd Session)


Recall that following the midterm appraisals, 55 members of the National Assembly were nominated for possible induction and consequently conferred with certificates of recognition at a prestigious Evening of Sparkles held at the Transcorp Hilton Hotel in Abuja in July 2022.

Only about 25 of these nominees have now made the semifinal shortlist and would be subjected to a rigorous points-based scoring system to arrive aT the eventual inductees into the Hall of Fame.

The semifinal shortlist was determined at the completion of the third-year appraisal, and the eventual inductees would emerge following further assessments in the last year of the four-year tenure. Hence, this last and final assessment to determine the Most Valuable Parliamentarians of the Ninth National Assembly would be assisted in terms of oversight by an MVP Panel of Experts (MPEs) drawn from parliamentary think tanks, the academia, media, civil society, and the private sector. 

The MVPs Induction to send forth the 9th Assembly Class and welcome those re-elected back to Parliament will hold as a high-profile exclusive event at a date to be announced in due course.

The Most Valuable Parliamentarian (MVP) Hall of Fame is an invitation-only arena reserved for a distinct class of legislators who have proven to be performance-driven, excellence-inspired, and public-spirited. 

It is designed to applaud and encourage exemplary leadership by leaders guided by a community of practice in productive partnerships between the Legislature, Civil Society and the citizenry in Nigeria. Designed by OrderPaper Nigeria and implemented in collaboration with renowned Civil Society partners, the MVP Hall of Fame is NOT driven by any pecuniary motive whatsoever.


READ ALSO: 2023: OrderPaper unveils signature, National Assembly Performance Score cards


OrderPaper reiterates that while it acknowledges that bills processing is not the only function of legislators, it is undoubtedly the most important; and measurement of performance on that score is based strictly on the sanctity of incontrovertible data, unlike performance measured against representation and oversight, which are the other statutory functions of legislators. 

“Performance appraisals based on bills processing is, therefore, the most veritable, viable and verifiable in measuring performance at this late renascent stage of Nigeria’s parliamentary practice,” said Epia, adding that “this is why not even one of the 469-member federal parliament has been able to make any valid contestation of our performance appraisals published in the last three years.

Civil society and citizens generally expect the National Assembly to be more open, transparent and accountable so that the performance of oversight and representation functions, including the controversial constituency projects scheme, can be subjected to objective appraisals as advised by data. We throw this as a challenge to the incoming 10th assembly, and one basic and necessary step to take in this regard, among others, is making records of attendance in plenary sessions, committee meetings and oversight visits public.”

OrderPaper Nigeria is the country’s premier and pre-eminent policy think-tank and legislative interface bridging the gap between citizens and parliament since 2015.



READ ALSO: 2023: “Why the quality of NASS Election campaigns worry us” – OrderPaper


See the Semifinal shortlist below:

  1. Top Performers- Value and Impact Bills

Samuel Ifeanyi Onuigbo (APC, Umuahia North/Umuahia South, Federal Constituency, Abia) 

Ezenwa Francis Onyewuchi (LP, Imo East Senatorial District)

Ovie Augustine Omo-Agege (APC, Delta Central Senatorial District)

Uba Sani (APC, Kaduna Central Senatorial District) 

Benjamin Okezie Kalu (APC, Bende, Federal Constituency, Abia)


2. Top Performers, Senate Productivity Index

Uba Sani (APC, Kaduna Central Senatorial District)

Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe (APC, Kwara Central Senatorial District)

Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed (APC, Adamawa-Central Senatorial District)  

Mohammed Sani Musa (APC, Niger East Senatorial District)

Ovie Augustine Omo-Agege (APC, Delta Central Senatorial District)

3. Top Performers, House Of Representatives Productivity Index

Dan Agundi Munir Babba (APC, Kumbotso Federal Constituency, Kano)

Uzoma Nkem Abonta (PDP, Ukwa East/Ukwa West, Federal Constituency, Abia)

Fulata Abubakar Hassan (APC, Birniwa/Guri /Kiri Kasama, Federal Constituency, Jigawa)  

Mohammed Tahir Monguno (APC, Monguno /Nganzai/Marte, Federal Constituency, Borno)

Femi Gbajabiamila (APC, Surulere I, Federal Constituency, Lagos)


  1. Top Performers, Senate Newbies

Mohammed Sani Musa (APC, Niger East Senatorial District)

Uba Sani (APC, Kaduna Central Senatorial District)

Orji Uzor Kalu (APC, Abia North Senatorial District)

Micheal Opeyemi Bamidele (APC, Ekiti Central Senatorial District) 

Ifeanyi Patrick Ubah (YPP, Anambra South Senatorial District)



  1. Top Performers, House Of Representatives Newbies

Simon Davou Mwadkwon (PDP, Barkin Ladi /Riyom Federal Constituency, Plateau)

Dachung Musa Bagos (PDP, Jos South/Jos East Federal Constituency, Plateau)

Onofiok Luke Akpan  (PDP, Etinan/Nsit Ibom / Nsit Ubium Federal Constituency, Akwa Ibom)

Waive Ejiroghene Francis (APC, Ughelli North /Ughelli South/ Udu Federal Constituency, Delta)

Benjamin Okezie Kalu (APC, Bende, Federal Constituency, Abia) 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy