Ex-Senators making a comeback to the 10th National Assembly

adminMarch 13, 20234 min

Winners of the 2023 National Assembly Elections as announced by INEC, cut across various demographics; this piece is thus focused on former lawmakers in the Senate who will be making a huge comeback to the 10th National Assembly.

National Assembly
Senator Godswill Akpabio

It is common knowledge that some incumbent lawmakers failed in their bids to return to the Red and Green Chambers. However, some ex-lawmakers will be making a comeback to the 10th National Assembly.

From the results collated and declared so far by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the Labour Party (LP), the Social Democratic Party (SDP), and New Nigeria Peoples’ Party (NNPP) appear to have sprung major upsets in the 2023 National Assembly Elections.

The Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressives Congress (APC) also made a good showing, securing seats in the Senate and the House of Representatives and giving some of the ex-lawmakers a chance to return to the National Assembly.


Below is the list of some of the ex-lawmakers who have served in the Senate previously and are making a comeback to the Red Chamber:


  1. GODSWILL AKPABIO (APC, AKWA IBOM NORTH-WEST)A two-time governor of Akwa Ibom State, Akpabio secured a seat in the 8th Senate at the end of his tenure in May 2015. His comeback to the National Assembly has been laced with controversies.Elected on the platform of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), his party’s Senate Caucus graciously handed him the position of Minority Leader until his defection to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in August 2018.

    The former Minister for Niger Delta Affairs went on to seek re-election in 2019 under the APC platform but lost to PDP’s Chris Ekpenyong. Following his withdrawal from the APC Presidential contest in June 2022, he sought a return to the Red Chamber and eventually won at the general election.


    A strong loyalist of former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar, he was a member of the 4th, 5th, and 6th House of Representatives until his exit from the Green Chamber as House Majority Leader in June 2011.

    The former lawmaker went on to secure a seat in the 7th Senate to represent Bauchi Central Senatorial District, where he also served as Deputy Leader of the Senate Majority Caucus. His legislative career, however, suffered a lull when he was swept by the tides of the ‘Buhari bandwagon’ in the 2015 National Assembly elections.

    Senator Ningi will be making a return to the Red Chamber, having defeated Uba Ahmad-Nana of the APC and Isah Hamma Misau of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), who he lost to in 2015.


    A former National Organising Secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Izunaso represented Imo West Senatorial District in the 6th National Assembly.

    Elected to the House of Representatives in 1992, he subsequently served as Chief Press Secretary to the Speaker and Senate President in 1999.


    Victor Umeh is a former National All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) National Chairman. He won elections to represent Anambra Central Senatorial District on the platform of the cock party in 2015, but the victory was short-lived as his elections were nullified by the Court, paving the way for Senator Uche Ekwunife to assume the seat.

    The red cap Chief, however, won elections for the coveted seat on the platform of the Labour Party in the just concluded 2023 National Assembly elections.


    He is Senator-Elect for Delta North Senatorial District. He is a member of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) He is replacing Senator Peter Nwaoboshi.

    He was a member of the House of Representatives between 1999 and 2003, representing Aniocha/Oshimili Federal Constituency, Delta State.


READ ALSO: 24 years after, women’s representation at National Assembly stands at 3.62%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - contents@orderpaper.ng - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy