NASS: Only 4 incumbents return in Ekiti, APC records clean sweep

adminMarch 11, 20233 min

Following the conclusion of the February 25, 2023 National Assembly elections, OrderPaper Nigeria highlights the winners of the legislative polls as declared by INEC in Ekiti.

The South West State has three Senatorial Districts and six Federal Constituencies.


Senator Michael Opeyemi Bamidele; Lawmaker representing Ekiti Central Senatorial District

Over the last twelve years, the political dynamics in ‘The Land of Honour and Integrity’ have been in peculiar fashion as the major parties, the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), consistently struggle to outwit one another in each electoral cycle.

In 2014, the PDP received fuel for its race to dominate the polity when former governor Ayodele Fayose defeated the then-incumbent governor, Kayode Fayemi. This development boosted the party’s morale but was short-lived as the APC reclaimed the Government House in 2018 and sustained the feat in 2022.

However, with the recent success of the PDP in Osun State; its western neighbours, political watchers had predicted that the governing party was in for a tough time at the 2023 Polls. Interestingly, both states hold off-cycle governorship elections.  This is despite the PDP having just one federal lawmaker, Senator Biodun Olujimi (Ekiti South), within its rank going into the February 25 National Assembly elections.

Very vibrant and a model for women’s representation in parliament as many would argue, Senator Olujimi lost her seat to APC’s Raphael  Adeyemi Adaramodu of the APC. Senator Michael Opeyemi Bamidele, Rep Olusola Steve Fatoba and Rep Olufemi Richard Bamishile were the only incumbents who secured their seats in the 10th National Assembly. Notably, Adaramodu is the incumbent lawmaker representing Ekiti Southwest/Ikere/Ise-Orun Federal Constituency.

It was a clean sweep for the APC in the South West State. Below is a full list of winners of the federal lawmakers from the state elected into the 10th National Assembly as declared by INEC:

1. Ekiti Central Senatorial District
Michael Opeyemi Bamidele (APC) – Re-elected for a second term
2. Ekiti South Senatorial District
Adeyemi Raphael Adaramodu (APC) – Moves from Reps to Senate
3. Ekiti North Senatorial District
Cyril Oluwole Fasuyi (APC)
1.  Ado Ekiti/ Irepodun-Ifelodun Federal Constituency
Olusola Steve Fatoba (APC) – Re-elected

2. Ekiti Southwest/Ikere/Ise-Orun Federal Constituency

Adeniyi Rufus Ojuawo (APC)

3. Emure/Gboyin Ekiti East Federal Constituency

Olufemi Richard Bamishile (APC) – Re-elected

4. Ido-Osi/Moba/Ilejemeje Federal Constituency

Akinlayo Davidson Kolawole (APC)

5. Ijero/Ekiti West/Efon Federal Constituency

Francis Abiodun Omoleye (APC)

6. Ikole/Oye Federal Constituency
Akintunde Oluwaseun Rotimi  (APC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy