Anambra: Only one incumbent lawmaker retained seat in National Assembly Elections

Full list of winners from the 2023 National Assembly Elections in Anambra State as declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)
adminMarch 6, 20234 min

The South East State of Anambra has three Senatorial Districts and eleven Federal Constituencies. Following INEC’s announcement of the February 25 National Assembly elections, OrderPaper highlights the winners of the legislative polls in the state



READ ALSO: “Only 33% of Nigerians voted NASS candidates on individual merit” – OrderPaper


Ifeanyi Ubah, Senator representing Anambra South


Anambra State is one of the politically-diverse states in the country, with its governorship retained by the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) over the last eighteen years.

On the other hand, the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) had largely held the majority of the federal legislative seats for the state, while the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Young Progressives Party (YPP) and even the All Progressives Congress (APC) at some point, held the remainder.

In addition to this configuration, given the fact that the Labour Party Presidential Candidate, Peter Obi, who had garnered massive support across the country (inclusive of the South East geo-political zone), is from the state, it was evident that the National Assembly race was going to be one of the most unpredictable elections in the country.

In the end, the Labour Party (LP) candidates won the majority of the National Assembly seats in the state, riding on the wave of support given to its Presidential candidate in the February 25 elections. The party went on to win two of the state’s three senatorial seats and six of the state’s eleven House of Representatives seats. 

Following this result, the Anambra State electorate appear to have ushered in what might be regarded as a wind of political sophistication with its federal legislators scattered around four parties namely; the Labour Party (LP). Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and the Young Progressives Party (YPP).


READ ALSO: South East Senators sponsored 19.7% of total Senate bills | National Assembly Scorecard


Below is a full list of winners of the Senatorial and House of Representatives seats in Anambra State as declared by INEC:



Anambra Central: Victor Umeh (LP)

Anambra North: Tony Nwoye (LP)

Anambra South:  Ifeanyi Ubah (YPP) – Re-elected


READ ALSO: Five Anambra lawmakers sponsored 18 bills or more | National Assembly Scorecard



Aguata Federal Constituency: Dom Okafor (APGA)

Anambra East/west Federal Constituency: Aniekwe Peter (LP)

Anaocha/Dunukofia/Njikoka Federal ConstituencyOzodinobi George (LP)

Awka North/South Federal Constituency: Lilian Orogbo (LP)

Ayamelum/Oyi Federal Constituency: Maureen Gwacham (APGA)

Idemili North/South Federal Constituency: Uchenna Okonkwo (LP)

Ihiala Federal Constituency: Pascal Agbodike (APGA)

Nnewi North/South Federal Constituency: Uche Elodimuo (APGA)

Ogbaru Federal Constituency: Afam Ogene (LP)

Onitsha North/South Federal Constituency: Emeka Idu (LP)

Orumba North/South Federal Constituency: Chinwe Nnabuife (YPP)


READ ALSO: 2023: “Why the quality of NASS Election campaigns worry us” – OrderPaper


The National Assembly elections in Anambra State turned out to have being one with the most upsets in this elctoral cycle, as it saw political heavyweights like Stella Oduah (Anambra North), Uche Ekwunife (Anambra Central), ranking PDP lawmaker; Lynda Ikpeazu (Onitsha North/South Federal Constituency) all lose at the polls.

It is noteworthy that other popular names like Vincent Ofumelu (Ayamelum/Oyi Federal Constituency), Chudi Momah (Ihiala Federal Constituency) and Obinna Chidoka (Idemili North/South Federal Constituency) also lost out.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy