6th-term Rep, Nicholas Mutu sponsored 3 bills in Delta’s National Assembly Scorecard

OrderPaper Nigeria presents the performance scorecard of Senators and Members of the House of Representatives from Delta State. This appraisal is focused on the performance of the thirteen federal lawmakers  in the area of Bill Sponsorship over the last three years (2019 -2022)
adminJanuary 10, 20237 min

OrderPaper Nigeria presents the performance scorecard of Senators and Members of the House of Representatives from Delta State. This appraisal is focused on the performance of the thirteen federal lawmakers  in the area of Bill Sponsorship over the last three years (2019 -2022)







Ossai Nicholas Ossai

A third-term lawmaker, Rep. Ossai leads the bills tally of lawmakers from the oil-rich Delta State at the National Assembly, with forty-seven (47) bills to his name.

Representing Ndokwa East/Ndokwa West/Ukwuani Federal Constituency, the lawmaker is currently serving as Chairman of the House Committee on Ethics & Privileges.



Waive Ejiroghene Francis

Among the thirteen lawmakers from the South-South State at the Green Chamber, Rep. Waive is ranked second on the pack with thirty-eight (38) bills to his credit. Some bills sponsored by the first-term lawmaker the period under review include:

  • Federal College of Nursing and Midwifery (Establishment) Bill which was passed
  • Federal Medical Centre, Ovwian (Establishment) Bill
  • National Infrastructure Development Bill, and
  • Amendment Bills affecting the following- Bank Employees Act, Films and Video Censors Board Act, Legal Practitioners Act, and the Compulsory Free Universal Basic Education Act, amongst others.

He is the lawmaker representing Ughelli North/Ughelli South/Udu Federal Constituency at the Green Chamber.



Oberuakpefe Anthony Afe

Rep. Afe represents Okpe/Sapele/Uvwie Federal Constituency and has 17 bills to his name since his election to the House in 2019. He was elected to the legislative chamber on the platform of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP).



Ben Roland Igbakpa

Like Rep. Afe, the lawmaker representing Ethiope East/Ethiope West Federal Constituency has sponsored 17 bills in the period under review. Among bills sponsored by the legislator is a piece of legislation seeking the establishment of a University in Isiokolo, Delta State.



Ndudi Godwin Elumelu

Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, Rep Elumelu, in the period under review, has ten bills to his name.  He represents Aniocha North/Aniocha South Federal Constituency and is serving his fourth term in the House of Representatives.



Thomas Ereyitomi

The Lawmaker representing Warri North/Warri South  Federal Constituency was elected to the House on the platform of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) and has sponsored five bills so far.

Bills sponsored by the lawmaker include a piece of legislation proposing that personnel of the Federal Fire Service be armed. The intention is to grant firefighters the power to bear arms to protect themselves from mob attacks while responding to emergencies. It was, however, rejected at the Green Chamber.



Victor Onyemaechi Nwokolo

First elected in 2011 to the  House of Representatives, the lawmaker representing Ika North East/ Ika South Federal Constituency has sponsored four bills in the period under review.



Ebomo Nicholas Mutu

Representing Bomadi/ Patani Federal Constituency, the legislator is the longest-serving member of the Ninth House of Representatives, having been first elected in 1999.He has three bills to his name in the period under review.



Julius Gbabojor Pandi

The lawmaker representing Burutu Federal Constituency is one of two lawmakers from the State in the Ninth National Assembly with two bills to their credit since the inauguration of the parliament in 2019.



Logor Leonard Okume

A representative of Isoko North/Isoko South Federal Constituency, he has not sponsored any piece of legislation since 2019.




Ovie Omo-Agege

Elected Deputy President of the Senate in 2019, Senator Omo-Agege represents Delta Central Senatorial District in the Ninth National Assembly. In the last three years, he has had twenty-five bills to his credit.

Omo-Agege, who chairs the Joint Constitution Review Committee of the Ninth National Assembly, will be seeking to become Governor on March 11 as flagbearer of the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) in Delta State.



James Manager

Senator representing Delta South in the National Assembly, the lawmaker, has had two bills to his name in the last three years. These bills include the Corporate Affairs Commission Act (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

He joins a long list of lawmakers in the current Senate who will not be returning to the Red Chamber, having contested the PDP governorship primaries early 2022 ticket and lost. Senator Manager would, however, be bowing out of the Nigerian Senate as one of the longest-serving lawmakers since he was first elected in 2003.



Peter Nwaoboshi

A representative of Delta North Senatorial District at the Red Chamber, Senator Nwaoboshi, sponsored three bills in the period under review. A former State Chairman of the PDP, he was elected to the Senate on the party’s platform but has since June 2021 defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The 64-year-old lawmaker was in July 2022 sentenced to seven years imprisonment by the Court of Appeal after he was found guilty of N322 million in money laundering charges filed by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC). Sentenced in absentia, he is reported to have come down with an illness and was admitted to the health facility. 





Editor’s Note: OrderPaper’s appraisal of lawmakers in the core areas of lawmaking is without prejudice to the lawmaker’s performance in the areas of oversight and representation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please email us - contents@orderpaper.ng - if you need this content for legitimate research purposes. Please check our privacy policy